Valero Texas Open Past Champions and History


The third oldest event on the PGA Tour, the Valero Texas Open started life as the Texas Open in 1922. While it has always been played in San Antonio, the venue as well as the name have changed over the years. It was variously known as the Texas Open, San Antonio Texas Open, Texas Open Invitational, San Antonio Open Invitational. It was the HEB Texas Open from 1990 – 1993, the La Cantera Texas Open from 1995 – 1997, the Westin Texas Open from 1998 – 2000 and since 2002, the Valero Texas Open.

Valero is a Fortune 500 oil and gas company based in San Antonio. In spite of the rumors in my area, it is NOT owned by Venezuelan strong man Hugo Chavez. The name comes from Misión San Antonio de Valero, better known as the Alamo.

The Texas Open has been held at a large number of venues over the years. It was played at Brackenridge Park Golf Course from 1922 to 1940, with a brief 1927-1928 switch to the Willow Springs Golf Course. It returned to that course from 1941 – 1949. Willow Springs Golf Club was the host from 1941 – 1949; and then either Brackenridge Park or the Ft. Sam Houston Golf Course until 1960. From 1961 – 1966, it was played at Oak Hills Country Club, before moving for the 1967 – 1970 seasons to Pecan Valley Golf Club. The years 1972 – 1976 found the tournament at Woodlake Golf Club. Oak Hills Country Club got the tournament back from 1977 to 1994. From 1995 – 2009, it was played at the Resort Course at La Cantera. Finally, in 2010, it began playing at the TPC at San Antonio.

The tournament is notable for several reasons. First, it was there in 2003 that Tommy Armour set a PGA Tour record low score of 254 for a 72 hole tournament. The Tour’s first 60 was shot there in 1951 by Al Brosch. It’s also the site of Texas native and PGA Tour legend Ben Crenshaw’s first Tour victory.

Valero Texas Open Winners
2014Steve Bowditch
2013Martin Laird
2012Ben Curtis
2011Brendan Steele
2010Adam Scott
2009Zach Johnson
2008Zach Johnson
2007Justin leonard
2006Eric Axley
2005Robert Gamez
2004Bart Bryant
2003Tommy Armour III
2002Loren Roberts
Texas Open At LaCantera
2001Justin Leonard
Westin Texas Open At LaCantera
2000Justin Leonard
Westin Texas Open
1999Duffy Waldorf
1998Hal Sutton
LaCantera Texas Open
1997Tim Herron
1996David Ogrin
1995Duffy Waldorf
Texas Open
1994Bob Estes
HEB Texas Open
1993Jay Haas
1992Nick Price
1991Blaine McCallister
1990Mark O’Meara
Texas Open
1989Donnie Hammond
1988Corey Pavin
1987No tournament
Vantage Championship
1986Ben Crenshaw
Texas Open
1985John Mahaffey
1984Calvin Peete
1983Jim Colbert
1982Jay Haas
1981Bill Rogers
San Antonio Texas Open
1980Lee Trevino
1979Lou Graham
1978Ron Streck
1977Hale Irwin
1976Butch Baird
1975Don January
1974Terry Diehl
1973Ben Crenshaw
1972Mike Hill
1971No tournament
San Antonio Open Invitational
1970Ron Cerrudo
Texas Open Invitational
1969Deane Beman
1968No tournament
1967Chi Chi Rodriguez
1966Harold Henning
1965Frank Beard
1964Bruce Crampton
1963Phil Rodgers
1962Arnold Palmer
1961Arnold Palmer
1960Arnold Palmer
1959Wes Ellis
1958Bill Johnston
1957Jay Hebert
Texas Open
1955Mike Souchak
1954Chandler Harper
1953Tony Holguin
1952Jack Burke Jr.
1951E.J. “Dutch” Harrison
1950Sam Snead
1949Dave Douglas
1948Sam Snead
San Antonio Texas Open
1947Ed Oliver
1946Ben Hogan
Texas Open
1945Sam Byrd
1944Johnny Revolta
1943No tournament
1942Chick Harbert
1941Lawson Little
1940Byron Nelson
1939E.J. “Dutch” Harrison
1935–1938No tournament
1934Wiffy Cox
1933No tournament
1932Clarence Clark
1931Abe Espinosa
1930Denny Shute
1929Bill Mehlhorn
1928Bill Mehlhorn
1927Bobby Cruickshank
1926Macdonald Smith
1925Joe Turnesa
1924Joe Kirkwood Sr.
1923Walter Hagen
1922Robert MacDonald

One Response to “Valero Texas Open Past Champions and History”

  1. Pappy on

    I worked the 1997 La Cantera Texas Open; it was a tough course and the temps (and humidity) were high.

    And not to be picky, but it’s “Brackenridge Park”. Though I’ve heard it called other, less charitable, names.


Leave a Reply

  • (will not be published)