100th Michigan Open Entry Deadline Is May 17

100th Michigan Open Entry Deadline Is May 17
100th Michigan Open Entry Deadline Is May 17

100th Michigan Open Entry Deadline May 17

The list of Michigan Open Winners is legendary: Walter Hagen, Horton Smith, Chick Harbert, Chuck Kocsis, Al Watrous, Walter Burkemo, John Barnum, Dave Hill, Lynn Janson, Randy Erskine, Buddy Whitten, Jeff Roth, Steve Brady, Tom Gillis, Scott Hebert and Ryan Brehm, among others.

This year marks the 100th time that the golf-rich state of Michigan will identify its top golfer. The Michigan Open will be played at Prestwick Village Golf Club in Highland on June 12 – 15. The championship is presented by the Lafontaine Automotive Group.

The 100 Michigan Open entry deadline is May 17. The championship is open to Michigan residents with a USGA handicap index of 8.0 or less. The LaFontaine Automotive Group, as it has the last three years, will present the 2017 champion with a one-year lease on a new Cadillac.

To register online golfers should visit www.michiganpgagolf.com. Questions can be directed to Justin Phillips, director of tournament operations for the Michigan PGA at jphillips@michiganpga.com. Mail-in entry forms and more information can be obtained by calling the Michigan PGA Section office at 517-641-7421.

The 100th Michigan Open Championship will use a qualifying events system to determine the starting field of 156 golfers.

Qualifying event sites include Eagle Eye Golf Club in Bath on Sunday, May 21, Oakland University – Sharf Course in Rochester and Country Club of Lansing on Tuesday, May 23, Detroit Golf Club – North Course on Tuesday, May 30, Quail Ridge Golf Course in Ada on Wednesday, May 31, Forest Lake Country Club in Bloomfield Hills (PGA Members Only) on Wednesday, May 31, and Black Lake Golf Club in Onaway on Sunday, June 4.

In addition, a qualifier for the final trio of spots in the starting field will be held on Saturday, June 10, at Flint Elks Golf Club in Grand Blanc. That event can serve as a first or second qualifying attempt.

A tiered entry rate is in effect for 2017 with amateurs paying $180 to enter, Michigan PGA member professionals $205 and non-member professionals $355.

Jeff Bronkema of Wayland, a 28-year-old mini-tour professional, is the defending champion and expected to head a strong field celebrating the 100th edition of the storied championship.
Bronkema, who won by three shots over Andy Ruthkoski of Muskegon and Eric Lilleboe of Okemos last year at Prestwick, added his name to the James D. Standish trophy, received a first-place check of $8,000 and the lease on a new Cadillac from LaFontaine Automotive Group.

One of the state’s longest-running sports events, the Michigan Open was first played in 1916 and won by Leo Diegel, who also won the second Michigan Open in 1919 after the tournament was not played in the World War I years of 1917 and 1918. Diegel also played in the inaugural Ryder Cup matches and the first Masters Tournament in Augusta, Ga.

Prestwick Village is hosting the championship for the fourth consecutive year. It is located just north of Milford in Highland Township. Award-winning and internationally renowned architect Ron Garl designed the championship course, and the club features an award-winning 26-acre practice facility.

Visit www.michiganpgagolf.com for more information. The 100th Michigan Open Deadline is May 17 at 5 pm.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: