2021 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am Preview

2021 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am Preview

2021 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am Preview

  • Dates: February 8-14, 2021
  • Location: Pebble Beach, California
  • Courses: Pebble Beach Golf Links (Host) Par (Yards): 36-36—72 (7,051) Spyglass Hill Golf Course Par (Yards): 36-36—72 (7,041)
  • Defending champion: Nick Taylor
  • Purse: $7,800,000 ($1,404,000/winner)
  • FedExCup: 500 points to the winner
  • Format: 72-hole stroke play
  • Field: 156

Things to Know

  • Nick Taylor attempts to become first player to successfully defend his title at the event since Dustin Johnson in 2010
  • AT&T brand ambassador and 2017 champion Jordan Spieth returns for his ninth start at the event, coming off a T4 at last week’s Waste Management Phoenix Open
  • Five-time AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am champion Phil Mickelson seeks to surpass Mark O’Meara for most wins in tournament history
  • Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the tournament will be held in 2021 without the traditional pro-am format

Field Notes

  • Five of the top 30 in the FedExCup standings, led by Patrick Cantlay (3), Stewart Cink (10) and Si Woo Kim (13)
  • Five of the top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking, led by Patrick Cantlay (11), Daniel Berger (15) and Paul Casey (17)
  • Four 2020-21 PGA TOUR Season winners: Stewart Cink (Safeway Open), Patrick Cantlay (ZOZO CHAMPIONSHIP @ SHERWOOD), Brian Gay (Bermuda Championship), Si Woo Kim (The American Express)
  • Nine past AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am champions (14 wins): Matt Gogel (2002), D.A. Points (2011), Jimmy Walker (2014), Brandt Snedeker (2013, 2015), Vaughn Taylor (2016), Jordan Spieth (2017), Ted Potter Jr. (2018), Phil Mickelson (1998, 2005, 2007, 2012, 2019), Nick Taylor (2020)
  • Four past FedExCup champions: Jim Furyk (2010), Bill Haas (2011), Brandt Snedeker (2012), Jordan Spieth (2015)
  • Eight sponsor exemptions: Akshay Bhatia, Matt Gogel, Kevin Hall, Kamaiu Johnson, Min Woo Lee, Andy Ogletree, Rod Pampling, Davis Riley

FedExCup and the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am

  • 18th event of the 2020-21 PGA TOUR Season
  • During the FedExCup era, all 14 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am champions qualified for the FedExCup Playoffs, with eight advancing to the TOUR Championship
  • Best FedExCup finish by a winner of the event: No. 2, Jordan Spieth (2017)

Current FedExCup standings

1Xander Schauffele1,036057
2Dustin Johnson1,018134
3Patrick Cantlay1,017137
4Harris English9601510
5Viktor Hovland873127
6Justin Thomas840047
7Carlos Ortiz8291311
8Joaquin Niemann826038
9Bryson DeChambeau783134
10Stewart Cink742129

A look back at the 2020 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am

Nick Taylor63-66-69-70—268 (-19)MP-PB-SH-PB
Kevin Streelman69-67-68-68—272 (-15)SH-MP-PB-PB
Phil Mickelson68-64-67-74—273 (-14) SH-MP-PB-PB
Jason Day67-64-70-75—276 (-11)MP-PB-SH-PB
  • Nick Taylor won the 2020 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am by four strokes to earn his second PGA TOUR victory and first since the 2014 Sanderson Farms Championship
  • Became the first wire-to-wire victor at the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am since Phil Mickelson in 2005
  • Fourth straight tournament winner to win by at least three shots
  • First international winner since Vijay Singh (Fiji) won in 2004
  • Became sixth Canadian with multiple official PGA TOUR wins, joining Stephen Ames (4), Dave Barr (2), George Knudson (8), Stan Leonard (3) and Mike Weir (8)

Jordan Spieth

  • AT&T-sponsored athlete and 2017 tournament champion returns for his ninth start at the event
  • Held a share of the 54-hole lead and finished T4 at last week’s Waste Management Phoenix Open, earning his best result since the 2019 PGA Championship (T3)
  • In eight prior starts at the event, has finished outside the top 25 just once (T45/2019), highlighted by four top-10s (T4/2014, T7/2015, Won/2017, T9/2020)
  • Recorded ninth win (of 11) in his 108th TOUR start (100th as a professional on TOUR) at the 2017 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am
  • Won in 2017 at the age of 23 years, 6 months, 16 days, making him the second-youngest winner of the event (John Cook/1981/23 years, 4 months)

Phil Mickelson

  • With his third-place finish in 2020, became the third player in PGA TOUR history with at least one top-10 in 30 consecutive seasons (Sam Snead, Raymond Floyd); was his 10th top-three finish at the event (five wins, two seconds, three thirds)
  • Won 2019 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am, his 44th career TOUR title in his 598th start at the age of 48 years, 7 months, 26 days
  • Five AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am titles (1998, 2005, 2007, 2012, 2019); tied with Mark O’Meara for most wins in the event
  • Owns 14 PGA TOUR titles in California, tied with Tiger Woods for most since 1983
  • Oldest winner in tournament history (2019; 48 years, 7 months, 26 days), surpassing 2008 champion Steve Lowery (47 years, 3 months, 29 days)

Additional Player Notes

  • Patrick Cantlay, the highest-ranked player in the field in the FedExCup standings (No. 3) and Official World Golf Ranking (No. 11), will make his fifth start at the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am (T9/2013, T48/2017, T35/2018, T11/2020)
  • Jason Day has four straight top-five finishes at this event (T5/2017, T2/2018, T4/2019, 4/2020) and first top-five on TOUR since a T5 at the 2019 Masters Tournament
  • Rickie Fowler returns to the event for the first time since 2012 (MC/2010, T27/2012)
  • Fresh off top-10 finishes in his last two starts (T8/The American Express, T10/Farmers Insurance Open), Francesco Molinari will make his tournament debut
  • 2013 and 2015 champion Brandt Snedeker holds the two-lowest 72-hole scoring records (265/2015, 267/2013)
  • Coming off his sixth top-25 finish of the season at last week’s Waste Management Phoenix Open (T17), PGA TOUR Special Temporary Member and World No.49 Will Zalatoris will make his second tournament appearance (T28/2018)

Tournament Notes

  • Ten 72-hole winners (nine players) of the AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am held at least a share of the lead for all four rounds –
    • Nick Taylor (2020)
    • Dustin Johnson (2010)
    • Phil Mickelson (2005 and 2007)
    • Tom Shaw (1971)
    • Bert Yancey (1970)
    • Lloyd Mangrum (1953)
    • Jimmy Demaret (1952)
    • Lloyd Mangrum (1948)
    • Ed Oliver (1940)
  • Six players since 1970 earned their first win at this event:
    • John Cook (1981)
    • Steve Jones (1988)
    • Brett Ogle (1993)
    • Matt Gogel (2002)
    • Arron Oberholser (2006)
    • D.A. Points (2011)
  • Ted Potter’s win in 2018 marked third time the TOUR had 1-2 finishes by lefties since 2005, with two coming at Pebble Beach:
    • Ted Potter, Jr. (won) and Phil Mickelson (T2), 2018 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am
    • Bubba Watson (won) and Phil Mickelson (2), 2011 Farmers Insurance Open
    • Phil Mickelson (won) and Mike Weir (2), 2005 AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am

Longest-running PGA TOUR title sponsors

TournamentFirst Year
The Honda Classic1982
AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-Am1986
Sony Open In Hawaii1999
JOhn Deere Classic1999

Longest-running host courses (non-Major Championships)

TournamentHostStart Year
Charles Schwab ChallengeColonial Country Club1946 – no tournament in 1949 and 1975
AT&T Pebble Beach Pro-AmPebble Beach Golf Links1947 – rotation has included Pebble Beach GL since 1947
Sony Open In HawaiiWaialae Country Club1947 – no tournament in 1970

The AT&T Pebble Beach Pro Am is via PGA TOUR

Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: