Abu Dhabi HSBC Champions Winners and History

Abu Dhabi HSBC Champions Winners and History

A lynchpin to the European Tour’s expansion in to the near East and Asia, the Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship was played the first time in January 2006. It is one of three European Tour events in the Gulf States.

The local organizer of the event is the Abu Dhabi Tourism and Culture Authority. HSBC joined as the title sponsor in 2011. Prize money has grown from $2 million in 2010 to $2.7.

In recent years, the tournament has made headlines by attracting top players through appearance fees. Tiger Woods, for example, is rumored to have earned an appearance paycheck of $3 million. The 2012 Tournament field included the world’s top four players, six of the world’s top ten and three of the four current Major title holders.

The Abu Dhabi Tourism and Culture Authority is an arm of the government of the Emirate that sponsors a wide variety of sporting events and shows, including the Abu Dhabi Junior Golf Championship, the Al Ain Aerobatic Show, the Abu Dhabi Desert Challenge, the Abu Dhabi Red Bull Air Race, a gourmet event and a yacht show. The Board also sponsors several sports teams and athletes.

For the Abu Dhabi HSBC Champions, the venue is the 27 hole Abu Dhabi Golf Club.

The compete list of Abu Dhabi Champions winners follows:

Abu Dhabi HSBC Golf Championship   
2021Tyrrell HattonEngland270 (-18)
2020Lee WestwoodEngland269 (-19)
2019Shane LowryIreland270 (-18)
2018Tommy FleetwoodEngland266 (-22)
2017Tommy FleetwoodEngland271 (-17)
2016Rickie FowlerUnited States272 (-16)
2015Gary StahlFrance276 (−19)
2014Pablo Larrazábal Spain274 (−14)
2013Jamie Donaldson Wales274 (−14)
2012Robert Rock England275 (−13)
2011Martin Kaymer (3) Germany264 (−24)
2011Martin Kaymer (3) Germany264 (−24)
Abu Dhabi Golf Championship   
2010Martin Kaymer (2) Germany267 (−21)
2009Paul Casey (2) England267 (−21)
2008Martin Kaymer (1) Germany273 (−15)
2007Paul Casey (1) England271 (−17)
2006Chris DiMarco United States268 (−20)
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: