AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open Winners and History


The AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open was first played in 2015, and is co-sanctioned by the European Tour, Sunshine Tour and Asian Tour. It is the only event co-sanctioned by those three tour. As such, it brings representation from nearly thirty different countries.

It is played in Bel-Ombre, Mauritius at the Heritage Golf Club.

The inaugural tournament was especially notable for Javier Colomo’s hole-in-one on the 329 yard par four ninth. It was the fist par four hole-in-one on any of the three sanctioning tours. Colomo made the cut thanks to that albatross, which was on his final hole of the day.

The first two years, the Mauritius Open was played in May. For the 2018 season (starting in the fall 2017), it was moved to December.

mauritiusThe Heritage Course is an Ernie Els design. Measuring The 7,500-yards, it features six ocean-front holes.

Mauritius is an island nation in the Indian Ocean. Officially named the Republic of Mauritius, it is located west of Madagascar and the African continent. The population of Mauritius is 1.2 million.

A list of Mauritius Open winners follows

AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open Winners

YearWinnerCountryScoreTo parMargin of Victory
2016 Wang Jeung-hunSouth Korea282-61 stroke
2015George Coetzee South Africa271-13Playoff
Winners of the AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open, an European Tour golf tournament.
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: