Alfred Dunhill Championship Winners and History

Alfred Dunhill Championship Winners and History

Alfred Dunhill Championship Winners and History

The Alfred Dunhill Championship is part of the South African Sunshine Tour, and has been co-sanctioned by the European Tour since 2005.

Although the Alfred Dunhill Championship dates only to 2000, it is a continuation of the Alfred Dunhill company’s sponsorship of the South African PGA Championship. Alfred Dunhill sponsored that event from 1995 to 1999.

The Alfred Dunhill Championship was originally scheduled in January, but in 2004, was moved to December to be a part of the European Tour Schedule. That led to the curious circumstance of two Dunhill Championships being held in that year.

Alfred Dunhill (30 September 1872 – 2 January 1959) was an English entrepreneur who made his fortune in tobacco and luxury goods. He was the founder of both the Alfred Dunhill luxury goods company (which sponsors the tournament), and Dunhill tobacco products (a separate company). Dunhill began by manufacturing accessories for cars, eventually developing a pipe designed for drivers. This led him to open a tobacco shop in Mayfair. After expanding to New York and Paris, Dunhill went into the production and sale of so-called luxury goods.

Today, Alfred Dunhill, Ltd. the sponsor of the Dunhill Championship, is specializes in ready-to-wear and custom menswear, leather goods, and accessories.

The Dunhill company also sponsors the Dunhill Links Championship, which is played in October.

A complete list of winners of the Alfred Dunhill Championship follows

YearWinnerScoreTo parMargin of
Alfred Dunhill Championship
2023Louis Oosthuizen270-182 strokes
2022Ockie Strydom270-182 strokes
2020 Christiaan Bezuidenhout274−144 strokes
2019 Pablo Larrazábal280−81 stroke
2018 David Lipsky274−142 strokes
2017 – no tournament
2016 Brandon Stone267−216 strokes
2015 Charl Schwartzel (4)273−154 strokes
2014 Branden Grace268−207 strokes
2013 Charl Schwartzel (3)271−174 strokes
2012 Charl Schwartzel (2)264−2412 strokes
2011 Garth Mulroy269−192 strokes
2010 Pablo Martín (2)277−112 strokes
2009 Pablo Martín271−171 stroke
2008 Richard Sterne271−171 stroke
2007 John Bickerton275−131 stroke
2006 Álvaro Quirós275−131 stroke
2005 Ernie Els274−143 strokes
2004* Charl Schwartzel281−7Playoff
2004* Marcel Siem266−22Playoff
2003 Mark Foster273−15Playoff
2002 Justin Rose268−202 strokes
2001 Adam Scott267−211 stroke
2000 Anthony Wall204+−122 strokes
+  2000 event reduced to three rounds because of rain. * Two events in 2004 due to change in scheduling from January to December.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.

1 thought on “Alfred Dunhill Championship Winners and History”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading