Austrian Open Winners and History

Austrian Open Winners and History

Austrian Open Winners and History

The Austrian Open has had a checkered history, moving back and forth in status between the European Tour and the minor league Challenge Tour.

Beginning in 1990 as the Austrian Open, it was a regular European Tour event. Between 1997 and 2005, it was reduced to Challenge Tour status. The Austrian Open then returned to the regular European Tour in 2006.

The tournament for a time was sponsored by Lyoness, an Austrian corporation which runs a “shopping community,” consisting of various loyalty programs.

Geek that I am, I cannot see the word Lyoness without thinking of the classic fantasy novel Lyonesse by Jack Vance.

The current prize fund is $1,189,700.

In 2021, the tournament takes the place of the Tenerife Open at Golf Costa Adeje, which has been postponed to April 29 – May 2. In 2020, the Austrian Open was the first European Tour Event after the COVID shutdown.

The tournament is held at the Diamond Country Club in Atzenbrugg, Lower Austria, 35 km west of Vienna.

The list of Lyoness Open Winners follows

Year ChampionCountryScore
Austrian Golf Open
Austrian Open
2020Marc Warren Scotland275 (-13)
2019No Tournament
Shot Clock Masters
2018Mikko KorhonenFinland272 (-16)
Lyoness Open powered by Organic+
2017Dylan FrittelliSouth Africa 276 (-12)
Lyoness Open powered by Sporthilfe Cashback Card
2016Wu AshunChina 275 (-13)
Lyoness Open powered by Greenfinity
2015Chris WoodEngland 273 (-15)
2014 Mikael Lundberg Sweden 276 (-12)
2013 Joost LuitenNetherlands271 (−17)
2012Bernd WiesbergerAustria269 (−19)
Austrian Golf Open
2011Kenneth FerrieEngland276 (−12)PO
2010José Manuel LaraSpain271 (−17)PO
2009Rafael Cabrera-BelloSpain264 (−20)
Bank Austria GolfOpen presented by Telekom Austria
2008*Jeev Milkha SinghIndia198 (−15)
BA-CA Golf Open presented by Telekom Austria
2007Richard GreenAustralia268 (−16)PO
2006 Markus BrierAustria266 (−18)
Hohe Brücke Open
1996Paul McGinleyRepublic of Ireland269 (−19)
1995Alex ČejkaGermany267 (−21)
1994Mark DavisEngland270 (−18)
Hohe Brücke Austrian Open
1993 Ronan RaffertyNorthern Ireland274 (−14)PO
Mitsubishi Austrian Open
1992Peter MitchellEngland271 (−17)
Mitsubishi Austrian Open sponsored by Denzel
1991 Mark DavisEngland269 (−19)
Austrian Open
1990Bernhard LangerWest Germany271 (−17)PO
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: