Barracuda Championship Winners and History

Barracuda Championship Winners

Barracuda Championship Winners and History

The Barracuda Championship has for seventeen years been the alternate event to the WGC Bridgestone Invitational (WGC-NEC), and for one year, to the Open Championship. As an alternate event, the winner does not earn a Masters Tournament invitation. but does earn 24 OWGR points, 300 FedEx Cup points, a two-year tour exemption, and entry to the PGA Championship.

In 2016, as a consequence of the cancellation of the Greenbrier Classic, the Barracuda Championship will award entry to the 2016 Open Championship to the leading non-exempt player.

The tournament is played at the Montrêux Golf and Country Club, located midway between Reno and Lake Tahoe, Nevada.

Since 2012, the Barracuda Championship has used a Modified Stableford scoring system. The scoring system for Modified Stableford is below:

Modified Stableford Scoring System

PointsStrokes in relation to par
8Albatross (3 strokes under par)
5Eagle (2 strokes under par)
2Birdie (1 stroke under par)
−1Bogey (1 stroke over par)
−3Double bogey or worse (2 strokes or more over par)

Unlike regular golf play, the winner of a Stableford tournament is the one with the MOST points. The advantage of Stableford Scoring is that it encourages aggressive play. Note that the reward for a birdie or better significantly outweigh the penalty for a bogey or worse.

The Stableford System last was used on the PGA Tour at the 2006 International.

Barracuda is a network security company.

A complete list of Barracuda Championship winners follows:

YearPlayerScoreTo parMargin
Barracuda Championship
2017Chris Stroud44 points*Playoff
2016Greg Chalmers43 points*6 points
2015United States J. J. Henry (2)47 points*Playoff
2014Australia Geoff Ogilvy49 points*5 points
Reno–Tahoe Open
2013United States Gary Woodland44 points*9 points
2012United States J. J. Henry43 points*1 point
2011United States Scott Piercy273−151 stroke
2010United States Matt Bettencourt277−111 stroke
Legends Reno–Tahoe Open
2009United States John Rollins271−173 strokes
2008United States Parker McLachlin270−187 strokes
Reno–Tahoe Open
2007United States Steve Flesch273−155 strokes
2006United States Will MacKenzie268−201 stroke
2005United States Vaughn Taylor (2)267−213 strokes
2004United States Vaughn Taylor278−10Playoff
2003United States Kirk Triplett271−173 strokes
2002United States Chris Riley271−17Playoff
2001United States John Cook271−171 stroke
2000United States Scott Verplank275−13Playoff
1999United States Notah Begay III274−143 strokes

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: