Bass Pro Shops Legends of Golf Winners and History

Bass Pro Shops Legends of Golf Winners

Bass Pro Shops Legends of Golf Winners and History

Founded in 1978 as a 54-hole better ball event for players fifty and older, the success of the Legends of Golf was the spark for the creation of the Senior PGA Tour in 1980. It is often called “The Tournament that launched the Champions Tour.”

The current incarnation of the event is known as the Bass Pro Shops Legends at Big Cedar. It is played at the Big Cedar Lodge on the par-3 Top of the Rock course, designed by Jack Nicklaus and the 18-hole Buffalo Ridge course, redesigned by Tom Fazio in Ridgedale, Missouri. Bass Pro Shops owns the Big Cedar Lodge.

Bass Pro Shops’ Legends of Golf consists of two separate events using four-ball and alternate shot formats with two-man teams. The Champions division, for players age 50 – 65, plays 54 holes. The Legends Division, for players age 65+, play 45.

The Champions Division is an official money/official victory event.

For 2008 to 2013, the Legends of Golf consisted of three separate events: the Legends Division, which was a 54-hole two-man team better-ball event for men over 50; the Raphael Division, a 36-hole two-man team better-ball event for men age 50–69, and; the Demaret Division, a 36-hole two-man team better-ball event for men over 70.

The Legends of Golf came to national attention in its second year, with a televised playoff victory by Julius Boros and Roberto De Vicenzo over Tommy Bolt and Art Wall, Jr. The excitement generated by that event is often thought of one of the founding moments of the Champions Tour.

A complete list of Legends of Golf winners follows:

Legends of Golf Winners

YearChampions DivisionLegends Division 
2016Michael Allen & Woody AustinBruce Fleisher & Larry Nelson
2015Billy Andrade & Joe DurantBruce Fleisher & Larry Nelson
2014Fred Funk & Jeff SlumanJim Colbert & Jim Thorpe
YearLegends DivisionRaphael DivisionDemaret Division
2013Brad Faxon & Jeff SlumanIan Baker-Finch & Bart BryantJim Colbert & Bob Murphy
2012Michael Allen & David FrostMark James & Des SmythGibby Gilbert & J. C. Snead
2011Mark McNulty & David EgerMark James & Des SmythGibby Gilbert & J. C. Snead
2010Mark O'Meara & Nick PriceJohn Bland & Graham MarshGary Player & Bob Charles
2009Bernhard Langer & Tom LehmanGary Koch & Roger MaltbieGary Player & Bob Charles
2008Andy North & Tom WatsonGary Koch & Roger MaltbieAl Geiberger & Jimmy Powell
2007Jay HaasAndy North & Tom WatsonButch Baird & Bobby Nichols
2006Jay HaasAndy North & Tom WatsonOrville Moody & Jimmy Powell
2005Des SmythAndy North & Tom WatsonOrville Moody & Jimmy Powell
2004Hale IrwinBob Charles & Stewart GinnDon January & Gene Littler
2003Bruce LietzkeGary Koch & Roger MaltbieMiller Barber & Jim Ferree
2002Doug TewellBruce Lietzke & Bill RogersMiller Barber & Jim Ferree
YearLegends DivisionLegendary DivisionDemaret Division
2001Jim Colbert & Andy NorthJim Albus & Simon HobdayDon January & Gene Littler
2000Jim Colbert & Andy NorthMike Hill & Lee TrevinoJoe Jimenez & Charlie Sifford
1999Hubert Green & Gil MorganOrville Moody & Jimmy PowellJoe Jimenez & Charlie Sifford
1998Charles Coody & Dale DouglassCharles Coody & Dale DouglassJoe Jimenez & Charlie Sifford
1997John Bland & Graham MarshDon January & Gene LittlerGeorge Bayer & Jim Ferree
1996Mike Hill & Lee TrevinoOrville Moody & Jimmy PowellDoug Ford & Art Wall
1995Mike Hill & Lee TrevinoOrville Moody & Jimmy PowellTommy Bolt & Jack Fleck
1994Charles Coody & Dale DouglassDon January & Gene LittlerAl Balding & Jay Hebert
1993Harold HenningDon JanuaryJerry Barber
1992Mike Hill & Lee TrevinoMike Fetchick & Bob Toski
1991Mike Hill & Lee TrevinoRoberto De Vicenzo & Charlie Sifford
1990Charles Coody & Dale DouglassMike Fetchick & Bob Toski
1989Al Geiberger & Harold HenningRoberto De Vicenzo & Charlie Sifford
1988Bruce Crampton & Orville MoodyRoberto De Vicenzo & Charlie Sifford
1987Bruce Crampton & Orville MoodyJerry Barber & Doug Ford
1986Don January & Gene Littler
1985Don January & Gene Littler
1984Gay Brewer & Billy Casper
1983Roberto De Vicenzo & Rod Funseth
1982Don January & Sam Snead
1981Gene Littler & Bob Rosburg
1980Tommy Bolt & Art Wall
1979Julius Boros & Roberto De Vicenzo
1978Gardner Dickinson & Sam Snead
Legends of Golf Winners
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: