Belgian Open Winners; Belgian Knockout Winners and History

Belgian Open Winners; Belgian Knockout Winners and History

Belgian Open Winners; Belgian Knockout Winners and History

Originally known as the Belgian Open, the Belgian Knockout has been re-imagined for 2018 as a combination stroke play/match play competition. Players will compete in 36 holes of stroke play, with the top 64 vying for the title in a series of 9-hole matches. Thomas Pieters will serve as host.

The Belgian Knockout format:

The first two days of the tournament are traditional stroke play rounds. The top 64 players advance to the Saturday knockout rounds. Ties for 64th are broken with a sudden-death playoff Friday evening. Weekend matches are nine holes and single elimination. The first three rounds are on Saturday, with eight players moving on to Sunday.

The Belgian Knockout’s inaugural year comes after a 17 year hiatus for the Belgian Open (2001 – 2017). The first Belgian Open was held in 1910. For obvious reasons, the tournament was sidelined during both World Wars (1915 – 1919; 1940 – 1945). The tournament was also cancelled from 1980 – 1986 and 1995 – 1997

The inaugural Belgian Open was won by Arnaud Massy, France’s only Major winner (1907 Open Championship). Other notable winners include Walter Hagen, Roberto De Vienzo, Nick Faldo and Lee Westwood.

The Belgian Open became an official European Tour event in 1978

A list of Belgian Open and Belgian Knockout Winners Follows

Belgian Knockout
2019Guido MigliozziItaly-3 to +14 strokes
2018Adrian OtaeguiSpain-3 to -12 Strokes
Belgacom Open
2001–17: No tournament
2000Lee Westwood England266 (−18)4 strokes
1999Robert Karlsson Sweden272 (−12)1 stroke
1998Lee Westwood England268 (−16)Playoff
Alfred Dunhill Open
1995–97: No tournament
1994Nick Faldo England279 (−5)Playoff
1993Darren Clarke Northern Ireland270 (−14)2 strokes
Piaget Belgian Open
1992Miguel Ángel Jiménez Spain274 (−10)3 strokes
Renault Belgian Open
1991Per-Ulrik Johansson Sweden276 (−12)Playoff
Peugeot-Trends Belgian Open
1990Ove Sellberg Sweden272 (−16)4 strokes
Volvo Belgian Open
1989Gordon J. Brand England273 (−11)4 strokes
1988José María Olazábal Spain269 (−15)4 strokes
1987Eamonn Darcy Ireland200 (−13)1 stroke
Belgian Open
1980–86: No tournament
1979Gavan Levenson South Africa279 (−5)3 strokes
1978Noel Ratcliffe Australia280 (−12)1 stroke
1959–77: No tournament
1958Ken Bousfield England2713 strokes
1957Bernard Hunt England280Playoff
(36 holes)
1956Flory Van Donck Belgium2698 strokes
1955Dave Thomas Wales2901 stroke
1954Dai Rees Wales2871 stroke
1953Flory Van Donck Belgium2709 strokes
1952Antonio Cerdá Argentina2864 strokes
1951Albert Pelissier France2795 strokes
1950Roberto De Vicenzo Argentina2824 strokes
1949Jimmy Adams Scotland2832 strokes
1948Willie Forrester Scotland288
1947Flory Van Donck Belgium283
1946Flory Van Donck Belgium2894 strokes
1940–45: No tournament due to World War II
1939Flory Van Donck Belgium2911 stroke
1938Henry Cotton England27713 strokes
1937Marcel Dallemagne France2854 strokes
1936Auguste Boyer France2851 stroke
1935Bill Branch England283Playoff
(36 holes)
1934Henry Cotton England2793 strokes
1933Auguste Boyer France2823 strokes
1932Arthur Lacey England2912 strokes
1931Arthur Lacey England3011 stroke
1930Henry Cotton England28111 strokes
1929Sid Brews South Africa3001 stroke
1928Albert Tingey Jr. England2973 strokes
1927Marcel Dallemagne France140
1926Aubrey Boomer Jersey1379 strokes
1925Eugène Lafitte France1421 stroke
1924Walter Hagen United States142
1923Percy Boomer Jersey143
1922Aubrey Boomer Jersey1501 stroke
1921Eugène Lafitte France14510 strokes
1920Rowland Jones England154Playoff
1915–19: No tournament due to World War I
1914Tom Ball England1444 strokes
1913Tom Ball England1451 stroke
1912George Duncan Scotland144Playoff
1911Charles Mayo England1443 strokes
1910Arnaud Massy France1395 strokes
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: