BMW Masters – European Tour

bmw masters

The BMW Masters is the first leg of the European Tour’s season ending playoff series.

It began at Lake Malaren Golf Club in China as a small, 40-player event for European and Asian Tour players in 2011. It was notable only because the BMW Masters winner received $2 million, which at the time made it one of the larger prizes in golf.

The tournament became a European Tour event in 2012, and was renamed the BMW Masters.

In 2013, the BMW Masters was set as the opening contest in the European Tour’s Road TO Dubai Playoff.

The purse in 2014 is $7 million. the field consists of 78 international top players: The leading 60 available players from within the top 100 of the Official World Golf Rankings (OWGR); 14 CGA Players and 4 tournament invitations The balance of the field will be completed in order from the Race to Dubai.

BMW turns out to be one of the most active sponsor on either the European Tour or PGA Tour circuits. In addition to the BMW Masters, the auto company sponsors the the BMW Championship, which is the third leg of the PGA Tour’s Championship; the European Tour’s BMW PGA Championship and; the BMW International Open outside Munich.

A list of past winners follows:


Year Winner Score
2014 Marcel Siem 272
2013 Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano 277
2012 Peter Hanson 267e
2011 Rory McIlroy 270


Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: