BMW PGA Championship Winners and History – European Tour

imageFounded in 1955, the BMW PGA Championship originally was known as the British PGA Championship. It has since gone through thirteen name changes and sponsors.

NOTE: This entry is for the European Tour event. Click here for the PGA TOUR’s Fedex Cup Playoff event.

Since 1984, the tournament has been played at Wentworth Club in Surrey, England. The European Tour’s headquarter is at Wentworth Club.

The BMW PGA Championship in its various forms long has been regarded as the European’s Tour flagship event. It is designated as the European Tour’s “Premier Event” for World Golf Rankings. Until 2009 and the introduction of the Dubai World Championship it also was the tournament with the European Tour’s highest prize.

Colin Montgomerie, Bernhard Langer, Nick Faldo and Peter Alliss have the most wins, with three each.

And, while Arnold Palmer never won the PGA Championship to complete the Career Grand Slam, he DID win the European PGA Championship in 1975.

The name is somewhat confusing, for there is also a PGA Championship in the United States, and a BMW Championship on the PGA TOUR, which was formerly the Western Open.

A list of past BMW PGA Championship winners follows

European PGA Winners

YearWinnerCountryVenueScoreTo parMargin
BMW PGA Championship
2017Alexander NorenSwedenWentworth Club277-112
2016Chris WoodEnglandWentworth Club279-91
2015An Byeong-hun South KoreaWentworth Club267−216 strokes
2014Rory McIlroy Northern IrelandWentworth Club274−141 stroke
2013Matteo Manassero ItalyWentworth Club278−10Playoff
2012Luke Donald (2) EnglandWentworth Club273−154 strokes
2011Luke Donald EnglandWentworth Club278−6Playoff
2010Simon Khan EnglandWentworth Club278−61 stroke
2009Paul Casey EnglandWentworth Club271−171 stroke
2008Miguel Ángel Jiménez SpainWentworth Club277−11Playoff
2007Anders Hansen (2) DenmarkWentworth Club280−8Playoff
BMW Championship
2006David Howell EnglandWentworth Club271−175 strokes
2005Ángel Cabrera ArgentinaWentworth Club273−152 strokes
Volvo PGA Championship
2004Scott Drummond ScotlandWentworth Club269−192 strokes
2003Ignacio Garrido SpainWentworth Club270−18Playoff
2002Anders Hansen DenmarkWentworth Club269−195 strokes
2001Andrew Oldcorn ScotlandWentworth Club272−162 strokes
2000Colin Montgomerie (3) ScotlandWentworth Club271−173 strokes
1999Colin Montgomerie (2) ScotlandWentworth Club270−185 strokes
1998Colin Montgomerie ScotlandWentworth Club274−141 stroke
1997Ian Woosnam (2) WalesWentworth Club275−132 strokes
1996Costantino Rocca ItalyWentworth Club274−142 strokes
1995Bernhard Langer (3) GermanyWentworth Club279−91 stroke
1994José María Olazábal SpainWentworth Club271−171 stroke
1993Bernhard Langer (2) GermanyWentworth Club274−146 strokes
1992Tony Johnstone ZimbabweWentworth Club272−162 strokes
1991Seve Ballesteros (2) SpainWentworth Club271−17Playoff
1990Mike Harwood AustraliaWentworth Club271−171 stroke
1989Nick Faldo (4) EnglandWentworth Club272−162 strokes
1988Ian Woosnam WalesWentworth Club274−142 strokes
Whyte & Mackay PGA Championship
1987Bernhard Langer West GermanyWentworth Club270−184 strokes
1986Rodger Davis AustraliaWentworth Club281−7Playoff
1985Paul Way EnglandWentworth Club282−6Playoff
1984Howard Clark EnglandWentworth Club204 (54 holes)−122 strokes
Sun Alliance PGA Championship
1983Seve Ballesteros SpainRoyal St George's Golf Club278−102 strokes
1982Tony Jacklin (2) EnglandHillside Golf Club284−4Playoff
1981Nick Faldo (3) EnglandGanton Golf Club274−104 strokes
1980Nick Faldo (2) EnglandRoyal St George's Golf Club28331 stroke
Colgate PGA Championship
1979Vicente Fernández ArgentinaSt Andrews Links288E1 stroke
1978Nick Faldo EnglandRoyal Birkdale Golf Club278−107 strokes
Penfold PGA Championship
1977Manuel Piñero SpainRoyal St George's Golf Club28333 strokes
1976Neil Coles EnglandRoyal St George's Golf Club280EPlayoff
1975Arnold Palmer United StatesRoyal St George's Golf Club28552 strokes
Viyella PGA Championship
1974Maurice Bembridge EnglandWentworth Club278−101 stroke
1973Peter Oosterhuis EnglandWentworth Club280−83 strokes
1972Tony Jacklin EnglandWentworth Club279−93 strokes
Schweppes Open
1970–71No tournament
1969Bernard Gallacher ScotlandAshburnham Golf Club29351 stroke
1968 (o)David Talbot EnglandDunbar Golf Club276-85 strokes
1967 (o)Malcolm Gregson EnglandHunstanton Golf Club275-133 strokes
Piccadilly PGA Close Championship
1968 (c)Peter Townsend EnglandRoyal Mid-Surrey Golf Club275-51 stroke
PGA Close Championship
1967 (c)Brian Huggett WalesThorndon Park Golf Club271-138 strokes
Schweppes PGA Close Championship
1966Guy Wolstenholme EnglandSaunton Golf Club278-24 strokes
1965Peter Alliss (3) EnglandPrince's Golf Club286-6Playoff (1st hole)
1964Tony Grubb EnglandWestern Gailes Golf Club287-12 strokes
1963Peter Butler EnglandRoyal Birkdale Golf Club3062 strokes
1962Peter Alliss (2) EnglandLittle Aston Golf Club2871 stroke
1961Brian Bamford EnglandRoyal Mid-Surrey Golf Club266-113 strokes
PGA Close Championship
1960Arnold Stickley EnglandCoventry Golf Club247 (63 holes)2 strokes
1959Dai Rees WalesAshburnham Golf Club2836 strokes
1958Harry Bradshaw IrelandMaesdu Golf Club2871 stroke
1957Peter Alliss EnglandMaesdu Golf Club2863 strokes
1956Charlie Ward EnglandMaesdu Golf Club282Playoff (36 holes)
1955Ken Bousfield EnglandPannal Golf Club2772 strokes
(c) & (o)  – In 1967 and 1968, both open and closed championships were held.
European PGA Winners

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: