Past British Open Champions and Courses

Here’s a list of past Open (British) Championship winners, their scores,  and the courses where they logged their victories. First held at Prestwick Golf Club, the British Open is the oldest championship in golf. The first tournament had a field of eight, and was played over three rounds of 12 holes each. Eight professionals participated. The next year, eight amateurs were among the eighteen participating.

The original trophy was a red leather belt with a silver buckle. Today, the winner is awarded the Claret Jug.

2007Padraig HarringtonCarnoustie, Scotland277
2006Tiger WoodsRoyal Liverpool, England270
2005Tiger WoodsSt. Andrews, Scotland274
2004Todd Hamilton Royal Troon, Scotland274
2003Ben Curtis Royal St. George’s, England283
2002Ernie Els Muirfield, Scotland278
2001David Duval Royal Lytham & St. Annes, England274
2000Tiger Woods St. Andrews, Scotland269
1999Paul Lawrie Carnoustie, Scotland290
1998Mark O’Meara Royal Birkdale, Southport, England280
1997Justin Leonard Royal Troon, Scotland272
1996Tom Lehman Royal Lytham and St. Annes, Lytham, England271
1995John Daly St. Andrews, Scotland282
1994Nick Price Turnberry Golf Links’ Aisla Course, Scotland268
1993Greg Norman Royal St. George’s, England267
1992Nick Faldo Muirfield, Scotland272
1991Ian Baker-Finch Royal Birkdale, England272
1990Nick Faldo St. Andrews, Scotland270
1989Mark Calcavecchia Royal Troon, Scotland275
1988Seve Ballesteros Royal Lytham, England273
1987Nick Faldo Muirfield, Scotland279
1986Greg Norman Turnberry, Scotland280
1985Sandy Lyle Royal St. George’s, England282
1984Seve Ballesteros St. Andrews, Scotland276
1983Tom Watson Royal Birkdale, England275
1982Tom Watson Royal Troon, Scotland284
1981Bill Rogers Royal St. George’s, England276
1980Tom Watson Muirfield, Scotland27
1979Seve Ballesteros Royal Lytham, England283
1978Jack Nicklaus St. Andrews, Scotland281
1977Tom Watson Turnberry, Scotland268
1976Johnny Miller Royal Birkdale, England279
1975Tom Watson Carnoustie, Scotland279
1974Gary Player Royal Lytham, Scotland274
1973Tom Weiskopf Troon, Scotland276
1972Lee Trevino Muirfield, Scotland278
1971Lee Trevino Royal Birkdale, England278
1970Jack Nicklaus St. Andrews, Scotland283
1969Tony Jacklin Royal Lytham, Scotland280
1968Gary Player Carnoustie, Scotland289
1967Roberto de Vicenzo Hoylake, England278
1966Jack Nicklaus Muirfield, Scotland282
1965Peter Thomson Southport, England285
1964Tony Lema St. Andrews, Scotland279
1963Bob Charles Royal Lytham, England277
1962Arnold Palmer Troon, Scotland276
1961Arnold Palmer Royal Birkdale, England284
1960Kel Nagle St. Andrews, Scotland278
1959Gary Player Muirfield, Scotland284
1958Peter Thomson Royal Lytham, England278
1957Bobby Locke St. Andrews, Scotland279
1956Peter Thomson Hoylake, England286
1955Peter Thomson St. Andrews, Scotland281
1954Peter Thomson Royal Birkdale, England283
1953Ben Hogan Carnoustie, Scotland282
1952Bobby Locke Royal Lytham, England287
1951Max Faulkner Portrush, Ireland285
1950Bobby Locke Troon, Scotland279
1949Bobby Locke Royal St. George’s, England283
1948Henry Cotton Muirfield, Scotland284
1947Fred Daly Hoylake, England293
1946Sam Snead St. Andrews, Scotland290
1945Not played WWII
1944Not played WWII
1943Not played WWII
1942Not played WWII
1941Not played WWII
1940Not played WWII
1939Richard Burton St. Andrews, Scotland290
1938R.A. Whitcombe Royal St. George’s, England295
1937Henry Cotton Carnoustie, Scotland290
1936Alfred Padgham Hoylake, Scotland287
1935Alfred Perry Muirfield, Scotland283
1934Henry Cotton Royal St. George’s, England283
1933Denny Shute St. Andrews, Scotland292
1932Gene Sarazen Prince’s, England283
1931Tommy Armour Carnoustie, Scotland296
1930Robert Jones Jr. Hoylake, England291
1929Walter Hagen Muirfield, Scotland292
1928Walter Hagen Royal St. George’s, England292
1927Robert Jones Jr. St. Andrews, Scotland285
1926Robert Jones Jr. Royal Lytham, England291
1925James Barnes Prestwick, Scotland300
1924Walter Hagen Hoylake, England301
1923Arthur Havers Troon, Scotland295
1922Walter Hagen Royal St. George’s, Scotland300
1921Jock Hutchison St. Andrews, Scotland296
1920George Duncan Deal, England303
1919Not played WWI
1918Not played WWI
1917Not played WWI
1916Not played WWI
1915Not played WWI
1914Harry Vardon Prestwick, Scotland306
1913J.H. Taylor Hoylake, Scotland304
1912Edward Ray Muirfield, Scotland295
1911Harry Vardon Royal St. George’s, England303
1910James Braid St. Andrews, Scotland299
1909J.H. Taylor Deal, England295
1908James Braid Prestwick, Scotland291
1907Arnaud Massy Hoylake, England312
1906James Braid Muirfield, Scotland300
1905James Braid St. Andrews, Scotland318
1904Jack White Royal St. George’s, England296
1903Harry Vardon Prestwick, Scotland300
1902Alexander Herd Hoylake, England307
1901James Braid Muirfield, Scotland309
1900J.H. Taylor St. Andrews, Scotland309
1899Harry Vardon Royal St. George’s, England310
1898Harry Vardon Prestwick, Scotland307
1897Harold Hilton Hoylake, England314
1896Harry Vardon Muirfield, Scotland316
1895J.H. Taylor St. Andrews, Scotland322
1894J.H. Taylor Royal St. George’s, England326
1893William Auchterlonie Prestwick, Scotland322
1892Harold Hilton Muirfield, Scotland305
1891Hugh Kirkaldy St. Andrews, Scotland166
1890John Ball Prestwick, Scotland164
1889Willie Park Jr. Musselburgh, Scotland155
1888Jack Burns St. Andrews, Scotland171
1887Willie Park Jr. Prestwick, Scotland61
1886David Brown Musselburgh, Scotland57
1885Bob Martin St. Andrews, Scotland71
1884Jack Simpson Prestwick, Scotland160
1883Willie Fernie Musselburgh, Scotland159
1882Robert Ferguson St. Andrews, Scotland171
1881Robert Ferguson Prestwick, Scotland170
1880Robert Ferguson Musselburgh, Scotland162
1879Jamie Anderson St. Andrews, Scotland
1878Jamie Anderson Prestwick, Scotland
1877Jamie Anderson Musselburgh, Scotland160 (36)
1876Robert Martin St. Andrews, Scotland176 (36)
1875Willie Park Prestwick, Scotland
1874Mungo Park Musselburgh, Scotland159 (36)
1873Tom Kidd St. Andrews, Scotland179 (36)
1872Tom Morris Jr. Prestwick, Scotland
1871Not played
1870Tom Morris Jr. Prestwick, Scotland
1869Tom Morris Jr. Prestwick, Scotland
1868Tom Morris Jr. Prestwick, Scotland
1867Tom Morris Sr. Prestwick, Scotland
1866Willie Park Prestwick, Scotland
1865Andrew Strath Prestwick, Scotland
1864Tom Morris Sr. Prestwick, Scotland
1863Willie Park Prestwick, Scotland
1862Tom Morris Sr. Prestwick, Scotland
1861Tom Morris Sr. Prestwick, Scotland
1860Willie Park Prestwick, Scotland(174 36 holes)
Liked it? Take a second to support emtwo on Patreon!

4 thoughts on “Past British Open Champions and Courses”

  1. Hey, Thanks a bunch for the list. I love bookmarking resources like this. Was watching the Open this morning. It would be terrific to see Norman stay on top tomorrow. Great quote buy Rose. Heard it on the tube last night. First time visiter to your blog here, nice work.
    Should be a wild finish if the winds keep up!


  2. I love to see Padraig Harrington do it again. Firstly because he’s an Irish legend and secondary because I have 20 euro e/w on him at 28/1 with Boylesports!! Let’s hope he finishes in the top 8 as they are only paying out on the top 8.


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: