Cazoo Open Winners / Wales Open Winners and History

Cazoo Open  Winners / Wales Open Winners and History

Cazoo Open Winners/ Wales Open Winners and History

The Cazoo Open is the current version of the Wales Open, which was launched in 2000. The tournament’s first incarnation lasted from 2000 – 2014, when a deal with host Celtic Manor expired.

The tournament was revived in 2020 as the European Tour struggled to put together a viable schedule in the midst of the COVID pandemic. In 2020, the sponsor was ISPS Handa, which is a frequent sponsor of international sporting events.

For 2021, the Wales Open is sponsored by Cazoo, an online car retailer based in London. It also has picked up the support of footballer (soccer player) Gareth Bale. Bale plays for Real Madrid and is a member of the Wales National Team.

The tournament is played at Celtic Manor’s Twenty Ten Course.

The list of Cazoo Open Winners / Wales Open Winners follows

YearWinnerScoreTo parMargin of Victory
Cazoo Open supported by Gareth Bale
2021Nacho Elvira268-16Playoff
ISPS Handa Wales Open
2020Romain Langasque276−82 strokes
2015−19: No tournament
2014Joost Luiten270−141 stroke
2013Grégory Bourdy276−82 strokes
2012Thongchai Jaidee278−61 stroke
Saab Wales Open
2011Alex Norén275−92 strokes
Celtic Manor Wales Open
2010Graeme McDowell269−153 strokes
2009Jeppe Huldahl275−91 stroke
2008Scott Strange262−224 strokes
2007Richard Sterne263−131 stroke
2006Robert Karlsson260−163 strokes
2005 Miguel Ángel Jiménez262−144 strokes
2004Simon Khan267−21Playoff
Celtic Manor Resort Wales Open
2003 Ian Poulter270−183 strokes
2002Paul Lawrie272−165 strokes
2001Paul McGinley138[a]−6Playoff
2000Steen Tinning273−151 stroke
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: