CIMB Classic Winners and History


Co-sponsored by the Asian and PGA TOURS, the CIMB Classic has been played since 2010. As of 2013, it has official money status on the PGA TOUR .

The inaugural edition of the tournament, held in 2010, had a 40 man field consisting of 25 PGA TOUR players, the top ten available from the Asian Tour and five sponsors’ exemptions. In 2013, the field has the top 60 available from the FedEx Cup standings, ten from the Asian Tour and eight sponsors’ exemptions.

The Mines Resort and Golf Club in Kuala Lumpur was the host of the first three events. In 2013 it moves to the Kuala Lumpur Golf and Country Club.

CIMB Group is a banking and financial services group headquartered in Kuala Lumpur and focusing on the ASEAN nations: Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore and Thailand, Brunei, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, Laos, and Vietnam. The company has a market capitalization of approximately USD 18.4 billion as at 31 Jul 2013 and over 42,000 employees located in 17 countries.

A list of CIMB Classic past winners is below.

Year (Calendar)Asian/ PGA Tour SeasonWinnerCountryScoreTo parMargin Of Victory
CIMB Classic
20172017/2018Pat PerezUnited States264-244 strokes
20162017/2017Justin Thomas (2)United States265-233 strokes
20152015/2016Justin ThomasUnited States262-261 stroke
20142014/2015Ryan Moore (2) United States271-173 strokes
20132013/2014Ryan Moore United States274-14Playoff
20122012/2012Nick Watney United States262-221 stroke
CIMB Asia Pacific Classic Malaysia
20112011/2011Bo Van Pelt United States261-231 stroke
20102010/2010Ben Crane United States266-181 stroke

2 thoughts on “CIMB Classic Winners and History”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: