CME Group Tour Championship Winners and History

CME Group Tour Championship Winners

CME Group Tour Championship Winners and History

The CME Group Tour Championship is the the season-ending tournament of the LPGA Tour. It is the successor to the LPGA Tour Championship, which was played in 2009 and 2010. From 2011 to 2013 the tournament was called the CME Group Titleholders.

With the 2014 creation of the Race to the CME Globe, the LPGA’s  tour championship became the CME Group Tour Championship. It marks the end of the LGPA’s season long, “Race to the CME Globe,” the equivalent of the PGA TOUR’s FedEx Cup Race.

Beginning in 2019, 60 players qualify for the Tour Championship in a season-long points race. At the Tour Championship, the season’s points are reset for a winner-take-all, 72 hole, no-cut competition. The winners’ check is a women’s golf record of $1.5 million ($5 million purse).

In past years, points accumulated during the season were reset before the tournament based on points list positions. “Championship points” were given to the top forty players, which were added to the reset points to determine the overall winner of the “Race to the CME Globe.”

CME Group is a financial securities corporation based in Chicago.

A list of CME Tour Championship Winners follows:

YearChampionCountryScoreTo parMargin
2019Kim Sei-youngSouth Korea65-67-68-70=270-181 stroke
2018Lexi ThomponUnited States65-67-68-70=270-184 strokes
2017Ariya JutanugarnThailand68-71-67-67=273-151 stroke
2016Charley HullEngland67-70-66-66=269-192 strokes
2015Cristie Kerr United States68-69-66-68=271−171 stroke
2014Lydia Ko New Zealand71-71-68-68=278−10Playoff
2013Shanshan Feng China66-74-67-66=273−151 stroke
2012Na Yeon Choi South Korea67-68-69-70=274−142 strokes
2011Hee Young Park South Korea71-69-69-70=279−92 strokes
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: