Dana Open Winners and History

Dana Open Winners and History Pictured Dana Open Logo

Dana Open Winners and History

The Dana Open began life as the Jamie Farr Classic. It was founded—curiously— after PGA Tour Caddie Judd Silverman decided to bring an LPGA tournament to his hometown of Toledo, Ohio. Silverman was able to recruit both sponsors and the help of another Toledo native, MASH star Jamie Farr. Farr lent his name to the event, worked as host and brought celebrity friends along for the ride.

Jamie Farr stepped down from the tournament after 2012, but it has continued under various games since.

The Marathon Classic has been held at Highland Meadows Golf Club in Sylvania (just outside Toledo) since 1989. From 1984 to 1988 it was at the Glengarry Country Club in nearby Holland.

The largest playoff in LPGA history took place at the 1999 Jamie Farr, a six-player affair involving Karrie Webb, Carin Koch, Sherri Steinhauer, Se Ri Pak, Kelli Kuehne, and Mardi Lunn. Pak won it on first hole of sudden death by making a ten-foot birdie putt.

In 2007, Se Ri Pak won the Farr for the fifth time, becoming only the fourth LPGA golfer to win the same tournament on five different occasions.

After 2009, the tournament nearly ceased operations as the LPGA struggled under the leadership of commissioner Carolyn Bivens. When Bivens resigned, however, it was revived for another year, but with the purse reduced from $1.4 million to $1 million.

The tournament was not held in 2011 because the US Senior Open was held at Inverness Club in Toledo and organizers felt as though the area could not sustain two golf tournaments in a single summer.

I have attended several editions of the Dana Classic and can tell you that they are a lot of fun and very family friendly. If you live in the area, it is worth a visit.

A complete list of Marathon Classic winners follows:

YearChampionWinning scoreTo parMargin
Dana Open Presented by Marathon
2023Linn Grant64 – 69 – 62 – 68=263-213 strokes
2022Gaby Lopez67-70-66-63=266-181 stroke
Marathon Classic Presented by Dana
2021Nasa Hataoka61-69-64=194-196 strokes
2020Danielle Kang64-67-70-68=269-151 stroke
2019Kim Sei-young67-64-66-65=262-222 strokes
Marathon Classic Presented by Owens Corning and O-I
2018Thidapa Suwannapura65-69-71-65=270-14Playoff
2017In-Kyung Kim65-67-68-63=263-214 strokes
2016Lydia Ko (2)68-66-67-69=270−14Playoff
2015Chella Choi73-66-65-66=270−14Playoff
2014Lydia Ko67-67-70-65=269−151 stroke
2013Beatriz Recari69-65-67-66=267−171 stroke
Jamie Farr Toledo Classic Presented by Kroger, Owens Corning and O-I
2012So Yeon Ryu67-68-67-62=264−207 strokes
2011No Tournament
Jamie Farr Owens Corning Classic Presented by Kroger
2010Na Yeon Choi64-67-68-71=270−14Playoff
2009Eunjung Yi68-66-61-71=266−18Playoff
2008Paula Creamer60-65-70-73=268−162 strokes
2007Se Ri Pak (5)63-68-69-67=267−173 strokes
2006Mi Hyun Kim68-66-67-65=266−18Playoff
2005Heather Bowie72-66-69-67=274−10Playoff
2004Meg Mallon66-69-74-68=277−71 stroke
Jamie Farr Kroger Classic Presented by ALLTEL
2003Se Ri Pak (4)69-67-64-71=271−132 strokes
2002Rachel Teske67-73-64-66=270−142 strokes
2001Se Ri Pak (3)70-62-69-68=269−152 strokes
Jamie Farr Kroger Classic
2000Annika Sörenstam70-67-66-71=274−10Playoff
1999Se Ri Pak (2)68-69-68-71=276−8Playoff
1998Se Ri Pak71-61-63-66=261−239 strokes
1997Kelly Robbins (2)67-64-67-67=265−198 strokes
Jamie Farr Toledo Classic
1996Joan Pitcock68-66-70=204−91 stroke
1995Kathryn Marshall67-71-67=205−81 stroke
1994Kelly Robbins69-70-65=204−9Playoff
1993Brandie Burton68-66-67=201−121 stroke
1992Patty Sheehan70-73-66=209−41 stroke
1991Alice Miller69-66-70=205−8Playoff
1990Tina Purtzer67-72-66=205−84 strokes
1989Penny Hammel (2)69-66-71=206−72 strokes
1988Laura Davies69-70-69-69=277−113 strokes
1987Jane Geddes71-73-69-67=280−82 strokes
1986No Tournament
1985Penny Hammel72-69-72-65=278−101 stroke
1984Lauri Peterson68-72-65-73=278−102 strokes

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.