Dog Playing Fetch With Golf Balls

Dog Playing Fetch With Golf Balls

Dog Playing Fetch With Golf Balls

This delightful video from the DP World Tour shows a dog playing fetch with golf balls.

I am amused in wondering what rule of golf applies here.

Rule 18-1 says that if an “outside agency” moves a ball at rest, there is no penalty and the player replaces the ball.

However, if the ball is moved by a player, his partner or either of the caddies then there is a one stroke penalty.

A random dog clearly is an “outside agency.” But what if it’s YOUR dog who moves the ball? Does the dog fall under the category of player, partner or caddie?

In a related note, I think more people should be encouraged to bring their dogs to the course to chase after Canada geese. The dogs will have fun, and perhaps the geese can be encouraged to go live elsewhere.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: