DP World Championship Winners and History

The DP World Championship is the final event in the European Tour’s Race To Dubai. The tournament is held at the Jumeirah Golf Estates in Dubai.

When it was first held in 2009, the Race To Dubai replaced the Order of Merit (money list). The tournament features the top 60 players in the year-long Race To Dubai.

The winner of the Race To Dubai receives a ten-year European Tour exemption, while the winner of the Dubai World Championship tournament receives a five-year European Tour exemption.

The title sponsor is DP World, a shipping company based in Dubai.

The complete list of DP World Championship Winners follows:

YearWinnerCountryScoreTo parMargin
DP World Tour Championship, Dubai
2018Danny WillettEngland270-182 strokes
2017John RahmSpain269-191 stroke
2016Matthew FitzpatrickEngland271-171 stroke
2015Rory McIlroy (2)Northern Ireland267-211 stroke
2014Henrik Stenson (2) Sweden272-162 strokes
2013Henrik Stenson Sweden263-256 strokes
2012Rory McIlroy Northern Ireland265-232 strokes
Dubai World Championship presented by DP World
2011Álvaro Quirós Spain269-192 strokes
2010Robert Karlsson Sweden274-14Playoff
2009Lee Westwood England265-236 strokes
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: