Eagle Eye Hosting GAM Net Chapman Championship

The seventeenth at Eagle Eye is a 135 yard par 3

Eagle Eye Golf Club Hosting Unique GAM Net Chapman Championship

  BATH TOWNSHIP – Award-winning Eagle Eye Golf Club near East Lansing will welcome 44 two-person teams competing in the 8th GAM Net Chapman Championship presented by V1Sports Monday.

  The 88 golfers will play 18 holes of net stroke play in the unique Chapman format. The format calls for each player on the two-person teams to play from the teeing ground and then play the teammate or partner’s ball for the second shot. After the second shot the partners select the ball with which they wish to score and play that ball alternately to complete the hole.

  Eagle Eye was designed by Chris Lutzke in collaboration with Pete Dye. It is a rolling “links” style design with multiple tee options. It has consistently won awards and received top ratings since it was founded in 2003.

  Among its most notable holes is No. 17, a 146-yard par 3 that Lutzke designed as a replica of the famous Dye-designed island hole 17th at TPC Sawgrass in Ponte Vedra, Fla. Dye’s testy par 3 has beguiled the best golfers in the world, and the replica at Eagle Eye has the same effect.

  Eagle Eye has hosted several GAM tournaments and qualifiers in recent years, including the 2016 Michigan Amateur Championship won by Sam Weatherhead of Grand Rapids who is currently a touring professional. It has also been a past host of multiple Michigan PGA Professional Championships.

   In June Eagle Eye’s sister course, Hawk Hollow, which is across the street, is hosting this year’s Michigan Amateur Championship.

  Luke Thode is director of operations at Eagle Eye and Stephen Fiorillo is director of grounds. Learn more at eagleeyegolfclub.com.

  Last year at Grosse Ile Golf & Country Club John Bonapace of Grosse Pointe Woods and Matt Magnotte of Clinton Township shot a net 9-under 62 to win the championship. Magnotte, 64 is a former Michigan Net Amateur champion (2018), and Bonapace, 60 and chief marketing officer for NTT, won for the first time in a GAM tournament.

  They are returning to defend as are 2020 winners Dustin Ross of Garden City and William Dietz of Livonia, 2018 winners Steven Marques of Richmond and Greg Fisher of Chesterfield, 2017 winners Rick and Rich Rachner of Commerce Township and Brighton, 2016 winners Roger Chapman of Rochester Hills and Stewart Sloan of Macomb Township, and 2015 champions Joseph Laforges of Rochester Hills and Steve Nimer of Wolverine Lake.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: