Evian Championship Winners and History


The “Fifth Major” on the LPGA tour, the Evian Championship is also one of two major championships for the Ladies European Tour. The Evian Championship is played at the Evian Resort Golf Club in Évian-les-Bains , France in September.

Unlike the Men’s tours, which agree on the existence of four “Majors,” the LPGA and LET diverge strongly on the issue. The LPGA lists the ANA Inspiration, Women’s PGA Championship, US Women’s Open, the Women’s British Open and the Evian Championship as Majors. The LET recognizes only the Women’s British Open and the Evian Championship.

The Evian Championship first teed off in 1994 as the Evian Masters., and was recognized as an event only by the LET. In 2000, the Evian Masters was recognized as an LPGA-LET co-sanctioned tournament. The tournament was renamed the Evian Championship in 2013, and was recognized as the LPGA’s fifth Major.

The Evian Championship currently is the second-richest event in women’s golf, after the US Women’s Open.

From 1994 to 2007, the Evian Championship was a limited field, no-cut event. In 2007, the field was expanded from 78 players to 90, and a cut was in place after the second round. In 2010, the field expanded to 111.

A list of Evian Championship winners follows.

YearChampionCountryScoreTo parMargin
LET and LPGA Co-Sanctioned Major
2022Brooke HendersonCanada64-64-68-71=267-171 stroke
2021Minjee LeeAustralia68-69-65-64=266-18Playoff
2019Ko Jin-youngSouth Korea65-71-66-67=269-152 strokes
2018Angela StanfordUnited States72-64-68-68-121 stroke
2017Anna NordqvistSweden70-68-66=204 (rain)-9Playoff
2016Chun In-geeSouth Korea63-66-65-69-214 strokes
2015Lydia Ko New Zealand69-69-67-63=268−166 strokes
2014Kim Hyo-joo South Korea61-72-72-68=273−111 stroke
2013Suzann Pettersen Norway66-69-68=203 (54 holes – rain)−102 strokes
LET and LPGA co-sanctioned event
2012Inbee Park South Korea71-64-70-66=271−172 strokes
2011Ai Miyazato Japan68-68-67-70=273−152 strokes
2010Jiyai Shin South Korea68-70-71-66=274−141 stroke
2009Ai Miyazato Japan69-66-70-69=274−14Playoff
2008Helen Alfredsson Sweden72-63-71-67=273−15Playoff
2007Natalie Gulbis United States72-69-73-70=284−4Playoff
2006Karrie Webb Australia67-68-69-68=272−161 stroke
2005Paula Creamer United States68-68-66-71=273−158 strokes
2004Wendy Doolan Australia68-68-69-65=270−181 stroke
2003Juli Inkster United States66-72-64-65=267−216 strokes
2002Annika Sörenstam Sweden68-67-65-69=269−194 strokes
2001Rachel Teske Australia71-68-66-68=273−151 stroke
2000Annika Sörenstam Sweden70-68-70-68=276−12Playoff
LET event
1999Catrin Nilsmark Sweden69-70-72-68=279−92 strokes
1998Helen Alfredsson Sweden70-69-73-65=277−114 strokes
1997Hiromi Kobayashi Japan69-67-69-69=274−14Playoff
1996Laura Davies England72-69-65-68=274−144 strokes
1995Laura Davies England68-67-69-67=271−175 strokes
1994Helen Alfredsson Sweden71-73-73-70=287−13 strokes

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: