FedEx St. Jude Championship Winners and History

FedEx St. Jude Championship Winners and History pictured: logo

FedEx St. Jude Championship Winners and History

The FedEx St. Jude Championship is the first event in the PGA TOUR’s season ending playoff.

It was previously known as The Northern Trust, The Barclays, The Buick Classic, and the Westchester Classic under different sponsor names.

The field is limited to the top 125 players on the FedEx points list through the PGA TOUR’s regular season. The Top 70 players at the end of the FedEx St. Jude go on to play in the following week’s BMW Championship. See a list of BMW Championship Winners at the link.

The tournament dates to a pro-am at Apawamis Club in New York. The pro-am morphed into the Thunderbird Classic, which ran at Upper Montclair Country Club and Westchester Country Club. Under various names, the tournament was played at Westchester Country Club until 2007. In spite of the rotating sponsor titles, it was generally known as the Westchester Classic.

Beginning in 2007, the old “Westchester Classic” became part of the PGA TOUR’s playoff structure. It rotated among several clubs, including Liberty National, Bethpage, TPC Boston and Ridgewood.

In 2022, the tournament was moved to TPC Southwinds in Memphis. FedEx headquarters is in Memphis, as is St. Jude’s Hospital, the charity which benefits from the tournament.

Danny Thomas

St. Jude is the name of a children’s hospital located in Memphis, Tennessee. St. Jude’s Children’s Research Hospital was founded in 1962 by popular nightclub entertainer and television star Danny Thomas.

Thomas was born Amos Muzyad Yakhoob Kairouz in Deerfield, Michigan. His parents were Maronite Catholic immigrants from Lebanon. Deerfield is a small town 33 miles southeast of Ann Arbor.

St. Jude’s founding founding was the result of a vow Thomas had made as a young actor—that if he found success he would open a hospital dedicated to Saint Jude, the patron saint of hopeless causes. It is a moving story:

More than 70 years ago, Danny Thomas, then a struggling young entertainer with a baby on the way, visited a Detroit church and was so moved during the Mass, he placed his last $7 in the collection box. When he realized what he’d done, Danny Thomas prayed for a way to pay the looming hospital bills. The next day, he was offered a small part that would pay 10 times the amount he’d given to the church. Danny Thomas had experienced the power of prayer.

Two years later, Danny Thomas had achieved moderate acting success in Detroit, but he was struggling to take his career to the next level. Once again, he turned to the church. Praying to St. Jude Thaddeus, the patron saint of hopeless causes, Danny Thomas asked the saint to “help me find my way in life, and I will build you a shrine.”

His career took a turn for the better, and soon he moved his family to Chicago to pursue career offers. A few years later, at another turning point in his life, Danny Thomas visited a church and remembered his pledge to St. Jude. Again he prayed to St. Jude and repeated his pledge to build a shrine to the saint if he would show him the way.

In the years that followed, Danny Thomas’ career flourished through films and television, and he became an internationally known entertainer. He remembered his pledge to build a shrine to St. Jude.

The list of Westchester Classic / FedEx St. Jude Championship winners is a who’s who of golf history, including Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer, Seve Ballesteros, Johnny Miller, Julius Boros, Curtis Strange, Hale Irwin, Ernie Els, Pádraig Harrington and more.

A list of FedEx St. Jude Championship winners follows

YearPlayerScoreTo parMargin
FedEx St Jude
2023Lucas Glover265-15Playoff
2022Will Zalatoris265-15Playoff
The Northern Trust
2021Tony Finau264-20Playoff
2020Dustin Johnson (3)254-3011 strokes
2019Patrick Reed (2)268-161 stroke
2018Bryson DeChambeau266-184 Strokes
2017Dustin Johnson267-13Playoff
The Barclays
2016Patrick Reed275-91 stroke
2015Jason Day261-196 strokes
2014Hunter Mahan270-142 strokes
2013Adam Scott273-111 stroke
2012Nick Watney274-103 strokes
2011Dustin Johnson194 (54 holes)-192 strokes
2010Matt Kuchar272-12Playoff
2009Heath Slocum275-91 stroke
2008Vijay Singh (4)276-8Playoff
2007Steve Stricker268-162 strokes
Barclays Classic
2006Vijay Singh (3)274-102 strokes
2005Pádraig Harrington274-101 stroke
Buick Classic
2004Sergio García (2)272-12Playoff
2003Jonathan Kaye271-13Playoff
2002Chris Smith272-122 strokes
2001Sergio García268-163 strokes
2000Dennis Paulson276-8Playoff
1999Duffy Waldorf276-8Playoff
1998J. P. Hayes201 (54 holes)-12Playoff
1997Ernie Els (2)268-162 strokes
1996Ernie Els271-138 strokes
1995Vijay Singh (2)278-6Playoff
1994Lee Janzen268-163 strokes
1993Vijay Singh280-4Playoff
1992David Frost268-168 strokes
1991Billy Andrade273-112 strokes
1990Hale Irwin269-152 strokes
Manufacturers Hanover Westchester Classic
1989Wayne Grady277-7Playoff
1988Seve Ballesteros (2)276-8Playoff
1987J. C. Snead276-8Playoff
1986Bob Tway272-121 stroke
1985Roger Maltbie275-9Playoff
1984Scott Simpson269-155 strokes
1983Seve Ballesteros276-82 strokes
1982Bob Gilder261-195 strokes
1981Raymond Floyd275-91 stroke
1980Curtis Strange273-112 strokes
1979Jack Renner277-71 stroke
American Express Westchester Classic
1978Lee Elder274-101 stroke
1977Andy North272-122 strokes
1976David Graham272-123 strokes
Westchester Classic
1975Gene Littler271-17Playoff
1974Johnny Miller269-192 strokes
1973Bobby Nichols272-16Playoff
1972Jack Nicklaus (2)270-183 strokes
1971Arnold Palmer270-185 strokes
1970Bruce Crampton273-151 stroke
1969Frank Beard275-131 stroke
1968Julius Boros272-161 stroke
1967Jack Nicklaus272-161 stroke

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: