Feng Holds 54 Hole Lead At Volvik LPGA

Olympic Bronze medalist Shanshan Feng took a one stroke lead at the LPGA Volvik Championship on Saturday, carding a bogey-free 66. Feng was three strokes back at the start of the day.

Shanshan Feng took the lead of the Volvik Championship after 54 holes.

“I started the round a little slowly,” Feng said.  “I was only 1 under through like eight holes and then I made like two putts in a row on the ninth and tenth.  After that I was just feeling like, oh, I can start making birdies and I was more comfortable also. ”

Feng actually was one shot back of leader Lizette Salas as she arrived at the eighteenth. A close approach shot led to a birdie that put Feng at -15, tying Salas. Up to that point, Salas had the hottest hand of the day, having birdied 9, 10, 13, 14 and 15. Salas, however, faltered on the final hole, stubbing a chip and finishing with a bogey. The miscue let Feng slip into sole possession of the lead.

Lizette Salas held a one shot lead when she teed off on 17 on Saturday at the Volvik LPGA Championship.

“Finishing like that really just gets under my skin,” Salas said. “I think that is going to be an extra push for tomorrow, too.  I had a two‑shot lead and now I’m one back.  You know, but that’s golf.  You hit great ones, you hit bad ones, and unfortunately that bad one was on my last hole today.  I hit the ball amazing today, I putted really great.  Just I think everything’s coming together, and I think if I just stay patient and stay still for a little extra second, things will be great for me tomorrow.”

Suzann Pettersen, who was T-2 heading into the round is in sole possession of third after 54.  Although Pettersen had eased into first mid-round, she finished in the same position she started: two behind the leader.

Complete third round results for the Volvik LPGA Championship follow:

1Shanshan Feng686766-6-15
2Lizette Salas706567-5-14
3Suzann Pettersen676769-3-13
T4Sung Hyun Park676572E-12
T4Jeong Eun Lee686868-4-12
T6Minjee Lee686671-1-11
T6Stacy Lewis657268-4-11
T6Jennifer Song686770-2-11
T9Thidapa Suwannapura726668-4-10
T9Laura Gonzalez Escall716966-6-10
T9Marina Alex716966-6-10
T9Ariya Jutanugarn726668-4-10
T9Sun Young Yoo687068-4-10
T9Nelly Korda667268-4-10
T15Moriya Jutanugarn696969-3-9
T15Sarah Jane Smith676872E-9
T15Haru Nomura686970-2-9
T15Giulia Molinaro706968-4-9
T19Lindy Duncan726769-3-8
T19Demi Runas716968-4-8
T19Gaby Lopez697168-4-8
T19Wei-Ling Hsu657271-1-8
T19Jenny Coleman706771-1-8
T19Nicole Broch Larsen707167-5-8
T19Cydney Clanton6867731-8
T26Mi Hyang Lee696971-1-7
T26Emily K. Pedersen716870-2-7
T26Chella Choi717167-5-7
T26Austin Ernst696872E-7
T26Jaye Marie Green696971-1-7
T26Jenny Shin687170-2-7
T26Brooke Henderson716672E-7
T26Candie Kung736769-3-7
T34Anna Nordqvist717168-4-6
T34Jane Park697269-3-6
T34Ally McDonald697269-3-6
T34Karen Chung697368-4-6
T34Jessica Korda727167-5-6
T34Jodi Ewart Shadoff687072E-6
T40Brittany Lincicome677668-4-5
T40Min Seo Kwak707368-4-5
T40Karine Icher726772E-5
T40Angel Yin697270-2-5
T44Su-Hyun Oh707369-3-4
T44Holly Clyburn697271-1-4
T44Bronte Law717071-1-4
T44Peiyun Chien707171-1-4
T44Carlota Ciganda727169-3-4
T44Amelia Lewis697271-1-4
T44Kelly Tan6970731-4
T44Nontaya Srisawang716972E-4
T44Lexi Thompson726872E-4
T53Nasa Hataoka707172E-3
T53So Yeon Ryu727170-2-3
T53Caroline Hedwall697371-1-3
T53Ilhee Lee6772742-3
T53Pernilla Lindberg707370-2-3
T53Maria Parra7070731-3
T53Sakura Yokomine727071-1-3
T53Madeleine Sheils697470-2-3
T53Perrine Delacour6971731-3
T62Sherman Santiwiwatthana717271-1-2
T62Katherine Perry746971-1-2
T62Brittany Altomare707272E-2
T62Ayean Cho7466742-2
T62Caroline Masson6870764-2
T62Charley Hull7269731-2
T62Christina Kim7170731-2
T62Aditi Ashok7170731-2
T70Kim Kaufman6972742-1
T70Olafia Kristinsdottir6971753-1
T70Mi Jung Hur6873742-1
T70Na Yeon Choi6872753-1
T74Katie Burnett7171742E
T74Cheyenne Woods7271731E
T74Laura Davies7071753E
T74Lee Lopez7270742E
T74Dani Holmqvist7172731E
79Jackie Stoelting70737532
80Sandra Changkija69737753
81Belen Mozo75687865
T82Laetitia Beck7272MC-E
T82In Gee Chun7173MC-E
T82Joanna Klatten7173MC-E
T82Maude-Aimee Leblanc7371MC-E
T82Annie Park7371MC-E
T82Amy Anderson7569MC-E
T82Hee Young Park7371MC-E
T82Megan Khang7470MC-E
T82Dana Finkelstein7272MC-E
T82Catriona Matthew7074MC-E
T82Mel Reid7470MC-E
T82Sei Young Kim7074MC-E
T82Paula Creamer6975MC-E
T82Paula Reto7173MC-E
T96Beatriz Recari7273MC-1
T96Becky Morgan7174MC-1
T96Mo Martin7174MC-1
T96Karrie Webb7570MC-1
T96Mariajo Uribe7372MC-1
T96Ryann O'Toole7273MC-1
T96Vicky Hurst7075MC-1
T96Min Lee7471MC-1
T96Dottie Ardina7174MC-1
T96Eun-Hee Ji7273MC-1
T96Kelly Shon7273MC-1
T96Julieta Granada7372MC-1
T96Angela Stanford7174MC-1
T96Pavarisa Yoktuan7669MC-1
T96Madelene Sagstrom7273MC-1
T96Azahara Munoz7471MC-1
T96Yani Tseng7372MC-1
T96Tiffany Joh7372MC-1
T114Wichanee Meechai7472MC-2
T114Mina Harigae7274MC-2
T114Celine Herbin7175MC-2
T114Kris Tamulis7175MC-2
T114Michelle Wie7571MC-2
T114Beth Allen7175MC-2
T120Savannah Vilaubi7473MC-3
T120Alena Sharp7770MC-3
T120Regan De Guzman7374MC-3
T120Sarah Kemp7473MC-3
T120Pannarat Thanapolboonyar7176MC-3
T120Therese O'Hara7572MC-3
T120Pornanong Phatlum7572MC-3
T120Marissa Steen7473MC-3
T120Ashleigh Buhai7176MC-3
T129Sadena Parks7177MC-4
T129Katherine Kirk7276MC-4
T129Sandra Gal7573MC-4
T132Ayako Uehara7475MC-5
T132Ssu-Chia Cheng7475MC-5
T132Morgan Pressel7475MC-5
T132Rachel Rohanna7079MC-5
T132Brooke Pancake7475MC-5
137P.K. Kongkraphan7674MC-6
T138Juli Inkster7477MC-7
T138Lee-Anne Pace7675MC-7
T138Jennifer Ha7675MC-7
141Stephanie Meadow7676MC-8
142Britney Yada7875MC-9
143Celine Boutier8272MC-10
144Julie Yang7778MC-11

Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: