Fortinet Championship Winners and History

Fortinet Championship Winners and History

Fortinet Championship Winners and History

The Fortinet Championship is the successor to the Safeway Open (2016 – 2020), which in turn replaced the Frys.Com/Fry’s Electronics Open (2007 – 2015).

As of 2021, the Fortinet Championship is the first event of the wrap-around 2021-2022 season.

The Fortinet Championship was first played as the Fry’s Electronics Open at the Grayhawk Golf Club in Scottsdale in 2007. In 2010, it moved to CordeValle Golf Club in San Martin, California. It moved to Silverado in 2014.

Silverado Resort and Spa has a long history with the PGA TOUR. It was the host of the Kaiser International Open Invitational from 1968 – 1980. In its second year, the Kaiser International Open was played twice. The first play was in January 1969, when rain shortened the event to 36 holes. Miller Barber was declared the winner; only half the prize money was distributed, however. They tried again in November, and Jack Nicklaus won in a four-way playoff.

The inaugural event was won by Canadian Mike Weir by one stroke over Mark Hensby. Troy Matteson in 2009 set a PGA Tour 36-hole record by shooting 61-61=122 in the second and third rounds. He won a three-man playoff over Rickie Fowler and Jamie Lovemark to win the tournament.

Fortinet is a provider of network security systems, switching and wireless access, authentication, cloud security and more.

The company has a six-year deal with the PGA TOUR, starting in 2021.

A list of Fortinet Championship Winners follows:

YearPlayerScoreTo parMargin
Fortinet Championship
2023Sahith Theegala267-213 strokes
2022Max Homa (2)272-161 stroke
2021Max Homa269-193 strokes
2020Stewart Cink267-212 strokes
Safeway Open
2020Stewart Cink267-212 strokes
2019Cameron Champ271-171 stroke
2018Kevin Tway274−14Playoff
2017Brendan Steele (2)273−152 strokes
2016Brendan Steele270−181 stroke Open
2015Emiliano Grillo273−15Playoff
2014Bae Sang-moon273−152 strokes
2013Jimmy Walker267−172 strokes
2012Jonas Blixt268−161 stroke
2011Bryce Molder267−17Playoff
2010Rocco Mediate269−151 stroke
2009Troy Matteson262−18Playoff
2008Cameron Beckman262−18Playoff
Fry’s Electronics Open
2007Mike Weir266−141 stroke

%d bloggers like this: