Four Spartans, Two Buckeyes In Shootout For LPGA Volvik Exemption

Volvik Championship ShootoutFour former Michigan State and two Ohio State golfers currently playing on the Symetra Tour will challenge top current college players from Detroit Mercy, Wayne State, Eastern Michigan, Michigan State and Michigan for the sponsor’s exemption to play in the LPGA Volvik Championship at Travis Point, May 22 – 28.
Eleven players in all will  participate in the Great Lakes Shootout on May 16. The format for the Great Lakes Shootout will be nine holes of stroke play followed by a three hole elimination for the one spot. The top four scores from the stroke play will advance to the hole-by-hole elimination on holes 16, 17 and 18.
The top six former Big Ten players on the Symetra Tour’s Volvik Race for the Card money list were invited to play in the shootout. Lindsey McPherson, Liz Nagel, Allyssa Ferell and Christine Meier will represent MSU with Ohio State’s Rachel Rohanna and Emma Jandel joining the Spartans to represent the Big Ten. Indiana’s Elizabeth Tong qualified for one of the spots but declined the invitation allowing Meier to play.
These six players will compete in the qualifier along with top current college players from local universities —  Detroit Mercy, Wayne State, Eastern Michigan, Michigan State and Michigan. Those selections will be made by each school and announced next week. One additional player with ties to the Midwest will also be invited to compete as an at-large selection by the tournament.
For more information go to
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: