Franklin Templeton Shootout Winners and History

imageBetter known as the Shark Shootout, The Franklin Templeton is a silly season team golf event hosted by Greg Norman annually in Naples, Florida. Originally held after the last money tournament of the season, it part of the beginning of the PGA Tour’s wraparound season.

It’s still the silly season.

The Shootout is a team stroke play event held over three days and 54 holes.  The first round uses the modified alternate shot rule, the second, better ball and the final, a scramble. Twenty four players participate.

The event benefits Curesearch For Children’s Cancer.

Past Franklin Templeton Shootout Winners are below:

Franklin Templeton Shootout

2015 Jason Dufner and Brandt Snedeker
2014 Jason Day and Cameron Tringale
2013 Harris English and Matt Kuchar
2012 Sean O’Hair & Kenny Perry
2011 Keegan Bradley & Brendan Steele

Shark Shootout
2010 Dustin Johnson & Ian Poulter
2009 Jerry Kelly & Steve Stricker

Merrill Lynch Shootout
2008 Scott Hoch & Kenny Perry
2007 Woody Austin & Mark Calcavecchia
2006 Jerry Kelly & Rod Pampling

Franklin Templeton Shootout
2005 John Huston & Kenny Perry
2004 Hank Kuehne & Jeff Sluman
2003 Hank Kuehne & Jeff Sluman
2002 Lee Janzen & Rocco Mediate
2001 Brad Faxon & Scott McCarron
2000 Brad Faxon & Scott McCarron

Franklin Templeton Shark Shootout
1999 Fred Couples & David Duval
1998 Steve Elkington & Greg Norman
1997 Bruce Lietzke & Scott McCarron
1996 Jay Haas & Tom Kite
1995 Mark Calcavecchia & Steve Elkington

Franklin Funds Shark Shootout
1994 Fred Couples & Brad Faxon
1993 Steve Elkington & Raymond Floyd
1992 Tom Kite & Davis Love III
Shark Shootout Benefiting RMCC
1991 Tom Purtzer & Lanny Wadkins

RMCC Invitational
1990 Fred Couples & Raymond Floyd
1989 Mark O’Meara & Curtis Strange

Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: