Frys.Com Open Past Winners and History



The Frys.Com Open began life in 2007 as the Fry’s Electronics Open. It was held at the Grayhawk Golf Clubs’s Raptor Course in Scottsdale. The name changed to the Frys.Com Open in 2008, and in 2010, the tournament moved to the CordeValle Golf Club in San Martin, Calif.

The Frys.Com Open currently is the opening event of each new PGA TOUR season. In 2015, both Rory McIlroy and Tiger Woods committed to play, although Woods had to drop out because of back surgery. Early events in the wrap-around PGA TOUR season don’t typically draw a lot of big names, but in that, offer a chance for players to get a jump on FedEx Cup points before the big guns return for the traditional season.

The inaugural event was won by Canadian Mike Weir by one stroke over Mark Hensby. Troy Matteson in 2009 set a PGA Tour 36-hole record by shooting 61-61=122 in the second and third rounds. He won a three-man playoff over Rickie Fowler and Jamie Lovemark to win the tournament.

The complete list of winners follows


YearPlayerCountryWinner’s scoreEarnings ($) Open
2015Sangmoon BaeS. Korea66-69-65-73=273 (–15)900,000 ($)
2014Jimmy WalkerUS70-69-62-66=267 (–17)900,000 ($)
2012Jonas BlixtSweden66-68-66-68=268 (–16)900,000
2011Bryce MolderUnited States71-67-65-64=267 (-17)900,000
2010Rocco MediateUnited States64-65-67-73=269 (-15)900,000
2009Troy MattesonUnited States72-61-61-68=262 (-18)900,000
2008Cameron BeckmanUnited States69-66-64-63=262 (-18)900,000
Fry’s Electronics Open
2007Mike WeirCanada69-64-65-68=266 (-14)900,000

Leave a Reply