GAM Names New President; Gives Distinguished Service Award

GAM Names New President
Tom Bollinger, center, received the Distinguished Service Award for 2016 from the Golf Association of Michigan. He is flanked by 2016 President Steve Braun, left, and 2017 President John Barbour.


GAM Names New President; Gives Distinguished Service Award
Tom Bollinger Receives GAM Distinguished Service Award; John Barbour New President

FLINT – Tom Bollinger of Linden wondered at first if his fellow Golf Association of Michigan friends were playing a joke on him when he was announced as the Distinguished Service Award winner for 2016 during the Golf Association of Michigan’s Annual Meeting of Club Delegates at Flint Golf Club.

“I’m honored,” he said. “I work with a lot of great volunteers and rules officials and enjoy helping all the golfers compete. We have a lot of long days working at the tournaments, but we enjoy it.”

Bollinger, a member of Spring Meadows Country Club and a president emeritus of the GAM, was among several who received awards at the annual meeting.

Jeff Holmes of Egypt Valley Country Club in Ada was honored as the GAM Superintendent of the Year. Ann Bray of Lake Doster Golf Club in Plainwell received the GAM Club Representative of the Year Award. Steve Stellini of Grand Rapids was recognized as the GAM Course Rater of the Year.

The John D. Standish Award winners were recognized for their work as Evans Scholars. Ryan Wietchy of Michigan State University was unable to attend. Nick Michetti of the University of Michigan accepted his award.

Also officially receiving awards were the GAM Players of the Year, who were announced previously by the GAM at the close of the 2016 golf season. Craig Reading, the 2016 Championship Committee Chairman, presented the awards to Tom Werkmeister of Grandville and Allyson Geer of Brighton as Players of the Year, Randy Lewis of Alma and Julie Massa of Holt as Senior Players of the Year, Devin Deogun of Orchard Lake and Geer as Junior Players of the Year and John French of Bloomfield Hills was the first-time winner of the Super Senior Player of the Year.

Geer was the first golfer in history to win in two categories, and she attended Monday with her parents Brad and Andrea Geer. Deogun, Massa and French also attended to receive their awards.

Per tradition at the meeting, the role of President for the GAM was passed on from 2016 President Steve Braun of Charlevoix, who is a Flint native and member of the Michigan Golf Hall of Fame. He moves to president emeritus status.

John Barbour of East Grand Rapids and Cascade Hills Country Club will be the President for 2017.

Vice Presidents will include Sara Wold of the Michigan Women’s Golf Association, Christopher Angott of Plum Hollow Country Club and Donald R. Schepers of Eldorado in Cadillac. Treasurer will be Richard Aginian of Oakland Hills. Secretary will be Craig Reading of Fox Creek. Assistant Secretary will be James Koepke of Red Run.

Two special presentations were made to the delegates including “Trendwatch: Modern Lifestyles, Golf and New Member Attraction” by Frank Vain, president of McMahon Group, Inc., and “Junior Player Development” by Ron Osborne, president of the Michigan PGA Section.


via Greg Johnson

Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: