Golf’s Majors Schedule For 2020

Golf's Majors Schedule For 2020

Golf’s Majors Schedule For 2020

For both players and most fans, the professional golf season revolves around “The Majors”: four for the men and five for the women. Here are the nine major events of the 2020 season for you to mark in your calendar for visiting, viewing on television or betting online.

PGA TOUR Majors 2020

The Masters
April 9 – 12, 2020
Augusta National, Augusta, Georgia

For the 84th Masters, Tiger Woods returns as defending champion. Only Jack Nicklaus has more wins than Tiger at Augusta National (6).

The PGA Championship
May 14 – 17, 2020
Harding Park, San Francisco, California

Firmly ensconced in its new position in May, the PGA Championship will be played at Harding Park in San Francisco. Defending champion for the 101st edition of the championship is Brooks Koepka. Harding Park, for what it’s worth, is named after President Warren G. Harding, who was an avid golfer and who died in office in San Francisco. Harding Park has previously hosted some very prestigious events, including the President’s Cup.

The US Open
June 18 – 21
Winged Foot, Mamaroneck, New York

For the 120th anniversary of the US Open, the national championship returns to Winged Foot. This will be the Open’s sixth visit to the venerable course. In the first, Bobby Jones was the champion; the current defending champion is Gary Woodland.

The Open Championship
July 16 – 19
Royal St. George’s, Sandwich, Kent, England

Royal St. George’s will host the Open Championship for the fourteenth time since its founding in 1887. The current defending champion of the Open is Shane Lowry. This year’s winner at Royal St. George’s will join the ranks of Harry Vardon, Walter Hagen, Henry Cotton, Bobby Locke, Sandy Lyle and Greg Norman as Open Champion at Royal St. George’s.

LPGA Majors 2020

The LPGA has five majors

ANA Inspiration
April 2 – 5
Mission Hills Country Club, Rancho Mirage, California

For the 49th year, the LPGA’s first Major will be played on the Dinah Shore Tournament Course at Mission Hills. The defending champion is Ko Jin-young.

US Women’s Open
June 1 – 7
Champions Golf Course, Houston, Texas

The US Women’s Open makes its first appearance at The Champions, which hosted the US Open in 1969. The Women’s US Open is the oldest of the women’s majors, dating to 1946. For the first first three years, it was conducted by the Women’s Professional Golf Association, then by the LPGA for four years, before the USGA assumed control.

The current US Women’s Open champion is Lee Jeong-eun.

KPMG Women’s PGA Championship
June 22 – 28
Aronimink Golf Club, Newtown Square, Pennsylvania

The 65th playing of the Women’s PGA Championship will be held at Aronimink, which had previously hosted the 1962 PGA Championship (won by Gary Player) and 2003 Senior PGA. The club also will host the 2026 PGA Championship. The defending champion in 2020 is Hannah Green.

The Evian Championship
July 20 – 26
Evian Resort Golf Club, Evian-les-Bains, France

With an average elevation of 1, 575 feet above sea level, Evian Resort Golf Club is in sight of Lake Geneva on the French-Swiss border. The Evian Championship has been an LPGA major since 2013.

The defending champion is Ko Jin-young.

AIG Women’s British Open
August 17 – 23
Royal Troon Golf Club, Troon, Scotland

While it’s men’s counterpart is 159 years old, the Women’s British Open dates only to 1976. Royal Troon has hosted the Open Championship nine times, but this will be its first Women’s British Open. The defending Champion is Hinako Shibuno.

Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: