Great Moments Of The US Open Book Review

Great Moments Of The US Open Book Review

Great Moments of the US Open

Great Moments of the US Open is the perfect Father’s Day gift.

Published by the USGA, Great Moments of the US Open is a large format (10×10) book that offers twenty seven great stories from the championship, organized into five themed chapters: Defining Moments, Perseverance, Underdogs, Comebacks and Dominance. There’s also a forward by Jack Nicklaus, an essay on the courses by Mike Davis, and a separate essay on Francis Ouimet.

As you might expect from a “coffee table book,” virtually every page sports a photograph from the USGA’s archives.

The appendices at the end of the book contain US Open results and various records.

The twenty seven championship stories in Great Moments of the USGA:

Defining Moments focuses on golfers whose victories heralded significant changes or gains for the golf world. Golfers profiled here are:

  • Harry Vardon in 1900
  • Johnny McDermott in 1911
  • Walter Hagen in 1914
  • Bob Jones in 1930
  • Jack Nicklaus in 1962
  • Gary Player in 1965
  • Tom Watson in 1982Perseverance focuses on golfers who overcame injuries, sickness and early-round setbacks to finally become champions. Golfers profiled here include:
  • Billy Burke in 1931
  • Olin Dutra in 1934
  • Ken Venturi in 1964
  • Payne Stewart in 1999
  • Tiger Woods in 2008Underdogs focuses on those golfers that everyone had counted out, or didn’t even consider, yet managed to achieve remarkable victories. Golfers profiled here are:
  • Gene Sarazen in 1922
  • Johnny Goodman in 1933
  • Jack Fleck in 1955
  • Lee Trevino in 1971
  • Hale Irwin in 1990Comebacks features the best come-from-behind victories in U.S. Open history, from early-round disappointment to life-threatening circumstances. Golfers profiled here include:
  • Byron Nelson in 1939
  • Ben Hogan in 1950
  • Arnold Palmer in 1960
  • Billy Casper in 1966
  • Johnny Miller in 1973
  • Jack Nicklaus in 1980Dominance features those players who picked apart the field and made winning golf’s toughest test look easy:
  • Willie Anderson in 1905
  • Tony Jacklin in 1970
  • Tiger Woods in 2000
  • Rory McIlroy in 2011I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and learned quite a lot.Recommended. 
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: