Trophee Hassan II Winners and History

Hassan II Golf Trophy Winners and History

After a long history as an independent tournament, and on the European Tour, The Trophy Hassan II golf tournament has a new home in the PGA TOUR Champions.


It now is called the Hassan II Golf Trophy.

The Trophee Hassan II Golf Tournament has been played most years since 1971. It was established by the late King Hassan II, and continues “under the patronage of His Majesty King Mohammed VI.”

The tournament is played at the Royal Golf Dar Es Salam in Rabat.

It was a European Tour event from 2010 to 2021.

When launched in 1971, the tournament drew interest almost immediately, counting Sam Snead and Johnny Miller among the big names at the inaugural edition. That year, Orville Moody finished first. Over the years, the tournament has had its share of big name winners, including Billy Casper (1972 and 1975), Lee Trevino, Vijay Singh, Payne Stewart, Nick Price, Colin Montgomerie and Padraig Harrington. Gary Player and Seve Ballesteros have put in appearances.

The seventeenth green at Royal Golf Dar Es Salam.

The tournament currently offers a prize of 1.5 million Euros.

Interestingly, the Ladies European Tour event Lala Meryem Golf Cup is played the same week at Golf de l’Ocean in Morocco.

In November 2016, checked off a bucket list opportunity when I had the opportunity to visit Morocco and one of the courses that I played was Royal Golf Dar Es Salam, the host of the tournament.

YearWinnerScoreTo Par
2023Stephen Ames210-9
2022Not played
2019Jorge Campillo283-9
2018Alexander Levy280-8
2017Eduardo Molinari283-9 (playoff)
2016Wang Jeung-hun285-5 (Playoff)
2015Richee Ramsay278-10
2014Alejandro Cañizares269-19
2013Marcel Siem271-17
2012Michael Hoey217-17
2011David Horsey274-13
2010Rhys Davies266-25
2009No tournamentNo InfoNo Info
2008Ernie ElsNo InfoNo Info
2007Pádraig HarringtonNo InfoNo Info
2006Sam TorranceNo InfoNo Info
2005Erik ComptonNo InfoNo Info
2004No tournamentNo InfoNo Info
2003Santiago LunaNo InfoNo Info
2002Santiago LunaNo InfoNo Info
2001Joakim HaeggmanNo InfoNo Info
2000Roger ChapmanNo InfoNo Info
1999David TomsNo InfoNo Info
1998Santiago LunaNo InfoNo Info
1997Colin MontgomerieNo InfoNo Info
1996Ignacio GarridoNo InfoNo Info
1995Nick PriceNo InfoNo Info
1994Martin GatesNo InfoNo Info
1993Payne StewartNo InfoNo Info
1992Payne StewartNo InfoNo Info
1991Vijay SinghNo InfoNo Info
1986-90No tournamentNo InfoNo Info
1985Ken GreenNo InfoNo Info
1984Roger MaltbieNo InfoNo Info
1983Ron StreckNo InfoNo Info
1982Frank ConnerNo InfoNo Info
1981Bob EastwoodNo InfoNo Info
1980Ed SneedNo InfoNo Info
1979Mike BrannanNo InfoNo Info
1978Peter TownsendNo InfoNo Info
1977Lee TrevinoNo InfoNo Info
1976Salvador BalbuenaNo InfoNo Info
1975Billy CasperNo InfoNo Info
1974Larry ZieglerNo InfoNo Info
1973Billy CasperNo InfoNo Info
1972Ron CerrudoNo InfoNo Info
1971Orville MoodyNo InfoNo Info

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: