Hero World Challenge Winners and History

Hero World Challenge Winners and History

Hero World Challenge Winners and History

The Hero World Challenge is the current incarnation of Tiger Woods’ charity tournament, which was first held in 1999. In 2014, it features a field of 18, and is held at Isleworth, Florida.

The Tiger Woods Foundation was formed to create and support health, education, and welfare focused community organizations.

From 2000 to 2013, the tournament was held at Sherwood Country Club in Thousand Oaks, California. For 2014, the tournament was moved to Isleworth in Florida, presumably to be closer to the homes of the pros enlisted to play.

From the beginning, the World Challenge has been a small-field event. Sixteen players teed it up in the 1999 event. The 2014 edition will feature eighteen players, consisting (pending availability) the most recent winners of the four major PGA tournaments, the top eleven available players from the Official World Golf Ranking, the defending champion, and two special exemption players selected by the Woods Foundation.

Hero Motocorp, the title sponsor, is an Indian motorcycle and scooter manufacturer. Past sponsor of the tournament include Target, Chevron and Northwestern Mutual.

The purse for the event is $3.5 million of which the winner receives $1 million.

A complete list of Hero World Challenge Winners follows:

Hero World Challenge Winners

Hero World Challenge
2018John Rahm268 (-20)4 strokes
2017Rickie Fowler270 (-18)4 strokes
2016Hideki Matsuyama270 (-18)2 strokes
2015Bubba Watson263 (−25)3 strokes
2014Jordan Spieth262 (−26)10 strokes
Northwestern Mutual World Challenge
2013Zach Johnson275 (−13)Playoff
World Challenge presented by Northwestern Mutual
2012Graeme McDowell (2)271 (−17)3 strokes
Chevron World Challenge
2011Tiger Woods (5)278 (−10)1 stroke
2010Graeme McDowell272 (−16)Playoff
Chevron World Challenge presented by Bank of America
2009Jim Furyk275 (−13)1 stroke
2008Vijay Singh277 (−11)1 stroke
Target World Challenge presented by Countrywide
2007Tiger Woods (4)266 (−22)7 strokes
2006Tiger Woods (3)272 (−16)4 strokes
2005Luke Donald272 (−16)2 strokes
2004Tiger Woods (2)268 (−16)2 strokes
Target World Challenge presented by Williams
2003Davis Love III (2)277 (−11)2 strokes
2002Pádraig Harrington268 (−20)2 strokes
Williams World Challenge
2001Tiger Woods273 (−15)3 strokes
2000Davis Love III266 (−22)2 strokes
1999Tom Lehman267 (−13)3 strokes
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

3 thoughts on “Hero World Challenge Winners and History”

  1. Tiger’s new swing looks pretty good, but slower. I still think that Ben Hogan had the best of all time. You can see a great Hogan swing video at jeffgoldgolf.com


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: