Hong Kong Open Winners and History

Hong Kong Open Winners

Hong Kong Open Winners and History

The Hong Kong Open was first played in 1959, but has only been part of the European Tour schedule since 2001. It currently is co-sanctioned by both the Asian and European tours. The Hong Kong Golf Association, Hong Kong PGA, and Chinese PGA also are participants, and receive a limited number of exemptions into the tournament for their members.

Because it is scheduled late in the calendar year, the Hong Kong Open has been counted variously as part of either the calendar season or the competition season for the European Tour.

In spite of the fact that it was not a “sanctioned” tournament for much of its history, the Hong Kong Open has attracted many of the world’s best golfers. Among the winners are Tom watson, Bernhard Langer, Greg Norman, José María Olazábal, Kel Nagle, Peter Thomson, Pádraig Harrington, Colin Montgomerie, and Ian Woosnam.

A list of Hong Kong Open Winners follows:

As a European Tour co-sanctioned event
YearWinnerCountryScoreTo parMargin
UBS Hong Kong Open
20182019Aaron RaiEngland263-171 stroke
20172018Wade OrmsbyAustralia269-111 stroke
20162017Sam BrazelAustralia267-131 stroke
20152015Justin Rose England263−171 stroke
Hong Kong Open
20142014Scott Hend Australia267−13Playoff
20132014Miguel Ángel Jiménez (4) Spain268−12Playoff
UBS Hong Kong Open
20122012Miguel Ángel Jiménez (3) Spain265−151 stroke
20112011Rory McIlroy Northern Ireland268−122 strokes
20102010Ian Poulter England258−221 stroke
20092009Grégory Bourdy France261−192 strokes
20082009Lin Wen-tang Taiwan265−15Playoff
20072008Miguel Ángel Jiménez (2) Spain265−151 stroke
20062007José Manuel Lara Spain265−151 stroke
20052006Colin Montgomerie Scotland271−91 stroke
Omega Hong Kong Open
20042005Miguel Ángel Jiménez Spain266−141 stroke
20032004Pádraig Harrington Ireland269−111 stroke
20022003Fredrik Jacobson Sweden260−162 strokes
20012002José María Olazábal Spain262−221 stroke
Before European Tour Sanctioning
2000Simon DysonEngland
1999Patrik SjölandSweden 
1998Kang Wook-soonSouth Korea 
1997Frank NobiloNew Zealand 
1996Rodrigo CuelloPhilippines 
1995Gary WebbUnited States 
1994David FrostSouth Africa 
1993Brian WattsUnited States 
1992Tom WatsonUnited States 
1991Bernhard LangerGermany 
1990Ken GreenUnited States 
1989Brian ClaarUnited States 
1988Hsieh Chin-shengTaiwan 
1987Ian WoosnamWales 
1986Seiichi KanaiJapan
1985Mark AebliUnited States 
1984Bill BraskUnited States 
1983 Greg Norman (2)Australia
1982Kurt CoxAustralia
1981Chen Tze-mingTaiwan 
1980 Kuo Chie-HsiungTaiwan
1979 Greg NormanAustralia
1978Hsieh Min-NanTaiwan 
1977Hsieh Yung-yo (4)Taiwan 
1976 Ho Ming-chungTaiwan 
1975Hsieh Yung-yo (3)Taiwan 
1974 Lu Liang-Huan (2)Taiwan 
1973Frank Phillips (2)Australia 
1972Walter GodfreyNew Zealand 
1971Orville MoodyUnited States 
1970Isao KatsumataJapan 
1969Teruo SugiharaJapan 
1968Randall VinesAustralia 
1967Peter Thomson (3)Australia 
1966Frank PhillipsAustralia 
1965Peter Thomson (2)Australia 
1964Hsieh Yung-yo (2)Taiwan 
1963Hsieh Yung-yoTaiwan 
1962Len WoodwardAustralia 
1961Kel NagleAustralia 
1960Peter ThomsonAustralia 
1959Taiwan Lu Liang-HuanTaiwan 

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading