HSBC Women’s World Championship Winners and History

HSBC Women’s World Championship Winners and History

Inaugurated in 2008, the HSBC Women’s World Championship is a limited field event held in Singapore and sanctioned by the LPGA. It replaced the HSBC Women’s Match Play Championship, which ran from 2005 – 2007.

The current field consists of 63 players. To ensure an invitation, a player must have won an LPGA tournament in 2013 or have finished the year in the Top 20 of the Rolex Rankings. Others are invited based on rankings. Because it is a limited field event, there is no cut. All competitors will play four rounds.

In 2008 and 2008, the field was 78 players, with a $2 million purse. The current purse is $1.4 million, with the winner taking $210,000.

The HSBC Women’s Champions tournament was played on the Garden Course of the Tanah Merah Country Club in eastern Singapore, adjacent to Singapore Changi Airport from 2008 to 2012. It is now played at the Serapong Course at the Sentosa Golf Club in Sentosa.


Tanah Merah Country Club in eastern Singapore

HSBC, a financial corporation, is the title sponsor of the tournament as well as several events on the PGA TOUR.

A complete list of HSBC Women’s World Championship winners follows:

2019Park Sung-hyunSouth Korea273 (-15)
2018Michelle WieUnited States271 (-17)
2017Inbee Park (2)South Korea269 (-19)
2016Jang Ha-NaSouth Korea269 (-19)
2015Inbee ParkSouth Korea273 (-15)
2014Paula CreamerUS278 (-10)
2013Stacey LewisUS273(-15)
2012Angela StanfordUS278 (-10)
2011Karrie WebbAustralia275 (-13)
2010Ai MiyazatoJapan278 (-10)
2009Jiyai ShinSouth Korea277 (-11)
2008Lorena OchoaMexico268 (-20)
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: