Hyundai Tournament of Champions Field and Notes – 2016

Hyundai Tournament of Champions

Hyundai Tournament of Champions Field and Notes
Dates: January 6-10, 2016
Where: The Plantation Course at Kapalua Resort
City, State: Maui, Hawaii
Par/Yards: 36-37–73/7,452 yards
Field: 32 winners of PGA TOUR events from the 2015 calendar year
2015 champion: Patrick Reed
Purse: $5,900,000
FedExCup: 500 points to the winner
Format: 72-hole stroke play (no cut)
Facebook: www.facebook/HyundaiTOC
Twitter: @HyundaiTOC
Instagram: HyundaiTOC

2015-16 PGA TOUR Storylines

  • The Hyundai Tournament of Champions marks the eighth official event of the PGA TOUR’s wraparound 2015-16 season schedule.
  • Year 10 of the FedExCup consists of 47 events including the four FedExCup Playoff events.
  • The Hyundai Tournament of Champions field includes winners from the 2015 calendar year, including the seven official events played in the fall. The Hyundai Tournament of Champions marks the resumption of the 2015-16 PGA TOUR schedule after a six-week break from official events.
  • Continuing a trend from the 2014-15 season that saw a TOUR-record 24 victories by players under the age of 30, four of the seven winners so far this season have also been in their 20s.

A look at the 2015 Hyundai Tournament of Champions

  • Patrick Reed overcame a two-shot deficit to defeat Jimmy Walker with a birdie on the first playoff hole to win his first Hyundai Tournament of Champions and fourth PGA TOUR event overall.
  • The Texan’s dramatic comeback was accentuated by his eagle on the par-4 16th, holing an 80-yard wedge shot for the only eagle on the hole that week.
  • Reed’s final round, 6-under 67, found him tied with Walker through 72 holes, one clear of Jason Day, Russell Henley and Hideki Matsuyama.
  • With the win, Reed became the fourth player, joining Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy and Sergio Garcia, to record four or more wins before the age of 24 years and six months (Jordan Spieth joined that group later in the season).

Breakdown of the 32-player field at the Hyundai Tournament of Champions:

  • The 32 players in the field have accounted for 128 PGA TOUR wins, led by Davis Love III, whose triumph at the Wyndham Championship put his career total at 21. He is followed by 2014 Hyundai Tournament of Champions winner Zach Johnson (12), Dustin Johnson (9), Bubba Watson (8), Jason Day (7) and Brandt Snedeker (7).
  • Winners of seven major championships including all three winners of the four major championships in 2015: Jordan Spieth, winner of the Masters and U.S. Open, Zach Johnson, winner of the Open Championship and Day, winner of the PGA Championship. Other major champions in the field include Watson, Love III and Graeme McDowell.
  • Two winners of THE PLAYERS Championship are in the field this week, including defending champion Rickie Fowler, who also captured the Deutsche Bank Championship during the FedExCup Playoffs. Love III is the other PLAYERS champion in the field, and he is a two-time winner of THE PLAYERS.
  • The field includes four players with multiple wins in the 2015 calendar year:
    • Jordan Spieth (5) – Valspar Championship, the Masters Tournament, U.S. Open, John Deere Classic, TOUR Championship by Coca-Cola
    • Jason Day (5) – Farmers Insurance Open, RBC Canadian Open, PGA Championship, The Barclays, BMW Championship
    • Jimmy Walker (2) – Sony Open in Hawaii, Valero Texas Open
    • Rickie Fowler (2) – THE PLAYERS Championship, Deutsche Bank Championship
  • Thirteen players who competed in The Presidents Cup 2015 are in the field: Zach Johnson, Dustin Johnson, Bubba Watson, Jason Day, Bill Haas, Jordan Spieth, Jimmy Walker, J.B. Holmes, Chris Kirk, Patrick Reed, Rickie Fowler, Steven Bowditch and Danny Lee. Davis Love III was a captain’s assistant on the U.S. Team, and is the captain of the U.S. Ryder Cup team in 2016.
  • There are 14 first-time winners in the field – Alex Cejka, Fabian Gomez, Emiliano Grillo, James Hahn, Smylie Kaufman, Kevin Kisner, Russell Knox, Brooks Koepka, Danny Lee, David Lingmerth, Peter Malnati, Troy Merritt and Justin Thomas.
  • 16 of the top 30 from the 2014-15 final FedExCup standings, including four of the top five.
  • 13 of the top 30 in the Official World Golf Ranking, including four of the top six: Spieth (1), Day (2), Watson (4), Fowler (6).

Full field list:

  • Steven Bowditch
  • Alex Cejka
  • Jason Day
  • Matt Every
  • Rickie Fowler
  • Fabian Gomez
  • Emiliano Grillo
  • Bill Haas
  • James Hahn
  • Padraig Harrington
  • J.J. Henry
  • J.B. Holmes
  • Dustin Johnson
  • Zach Johnson
  • Smylie Kaufman
  • Chris Kirk
  • Kevin Kisner
  • Russell Knox
  • Brooks Koepka
  • Danny Lee
  • David Lingmerth
  • Davis Love III
  • Peter Malnati
  • Graeme McDowell
  • Troy Merritt
  • Scott Piercy
  • Patrick Reed
  • Brandt Snedeker
  • Jordan Spieth
  • Justin Thomas
  • Jimmy Walker
  • Bubba Watson

Information courtesy of PGA TOUR

Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: