Hyundai Tournament of Champions Notes - 2013

image2013 Hyundai Tournament of Champions pre-tournament notes

  • Dates: January 4-7, 2013

  • Where: The Plantation Course at Kapalua Resort

  • Par/Yards: 36-37—73/7,411 yards

  • Field: 30 winners of PGA TOUR events from the 2012 season

  • 2012 champion: Steve Stricker

  • Purse: $5,700,000

  • FedExCup: 500 points to the winner

  • Format: 72-hole stroke play (no cut)

  • Facebook: http://www.facebook/HyundaiTOC

  • Twitter: @HyundaiTOC1

    2013 PGA TOUR Storylines Structural changes to the PGA TOUR

  • For the first time in the FedExCup era, the 40-tournament official money schedule will give the season a definitive end at the TOUR Championship by Coca Cola, the fourth event in the FedExCup Playoffs. The 2013¬2014 PGA TOUR Season officially begins three weeks later with those tournaments that formerly made up the Fall Series; those events begin awarding full FedExCup points.

  • Year seven of the FedExCup includes 36 events before the Playoffs, one less than 2012 due to the Mayakoba Golf Classic moving to its own unencumbered fall date, in the 2013-14 PGA TOUR Season.

  • The CIMB Classic and World Golf Championships-HSBC Champions become official events on the PGA TOUR (official victory, full FedExCup points, official money; winners qualify for Hyundai Tournament of Champions).

  • The Tour becomes the path for the PGA TOUR’s 50 new membership cards. The top 25 players on the money list for the Tour Regular Season will earn cards but must play the Finals for positioning. The Tour Finals will determine an additional 25 cards, based on cumulative earnings in those events, as well as the positioning of all 50 Cards. The Tour Finals will coincide with the timeframe of the FedExCup Playoffs, with last event ending the week after the TOUR Championship by Coca-Cola. The field makeup for the Finals will include the top 75 players from the Tour money list, PGA TOUR members who are 126-200 on the FedExCup points list following the Wyndham Championship, and non-members who would have earned enough FedExCup points to place them 126-200 on the official FedExCup points list.

  • Progression of young stars: 15 of the 37 different winners on the PGA TOUR in 2012 were under the age of 30, accounting for a total of 19 victories: Kyle Stanley, Bill Haas, Hunter Mahan (2), John Huh, Rory McIlroy (4), Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson, Webb Simpson, Marc Leishman, Ted Potter, Jr. and Scott Stallings, Keegan Bradley, Ryan Moore, Jonas Blixt and Charlie Beljan.

  • Top players playing and winning on the PGA TOUR: Entering the 2013 season, 28 of the top 30 players in the Official World Golf Ranking are members of the PGA TOUR. Last year, 20 of the 37 different winners in 2012 were inside the top 50 in the Official World Golf Ranking as of January 1: Steve Stricker (6); Brandt Snedeker/2 (38); Phil Mickelson (14); Bill Haas (27); Hunter Mahan/2 (19); Rory McIlroy/4 (3); Justin Rose (18); Luke Donald (1); Tiger Woods/3 (23); Bubba Watson (21); Jason Dufner/2 (33); Rickie Fowler (32); Matt Kuchar (11); Zach Johnson/2 (37); Dustin Johnson (7), Webb Simpson (10), Keegan Bradley (31), Sergio Garcia (17), Nick Watney (12) and Ian Poulter (16).

    Hyundai Tournament of Champions field highlights

  • The Hyundai Tournament of Champions features an exclusive field of PGA TOUR tournament winners from the 2012 season and will kick off the 2013 PGA TOUR Season. The players on hand at the Hyundai Tournament of Champions were responsible for many of the most exciting moments from a 2012 PGA TOUR season that included come-from-behind victories, major championship victories and FedExCup drama from emerging stars and established veterans alike.

  • There are 16 players from the top 30 in the 2012 FedExCup final standings in the field at Kapalua, the most from the top 30 ever to play at this event since the debut of the FedExCup six years ago.

  • The 30 players in the field includes:

    • FedExCup champion Brandt Snedeker
    • Major champions Bubba Watson and Webb Simpson
    • Two-time winners Hunter Mahan, Jason Dufner and Zach Johnson
    • 2012 Ryder Cup stars and 2012 World Golf Championships winners Keegan Bradley and Ian Poulter First-time winners include Rickie Fowler, Tommy Gainey, Kyle Stanley, 2012 PGA TOUR Rookie of the Year John Huh, Charlie Beljan and Jonas Blixt
    • Veteran stars Dustin Johnson, Bill Haas, Matt Kuchar, Nick Watney and defending champion Steve Stricker
    • Bubba Watson, Jason Dufner, Brandt Snedeker, Webb Simpson, Keegan Bradley and Ian Poulter enter the week all ranked inside the top 15 in the Official World Golf Rankings.
  • Leave a Reply