IPS Handa World Cup Of Golf Winners and History

ISPS Handa World Cup of Golf Winners

The IPS Handa World Cup of Golf is the best golf tournament you’ve never paid attention to. Just look at the list of winners in this team event: Jack Nicklaus and Arnold Palmer, Fred Couples and Davis Love III, Padraig Harrington and Paul McGilney, Tiger Woods and David Duval, Robert Karlsson and Henrick Stenson, Arnold Palmer and Sam Snead, Sam Snead and Jimmy Demaret, Sam Snead and Ben Hogan … and on and on … And the sites! Buenos Ares, Melbourne, Maui, Paris, Athens, Bangkok, Madrid …

The World Cup of Golf began as the brainchild of John Jay Hopkins, a Canadian industrialist who saw the tournament as a way to promote international goodwill. The event was known as the Canada Cup when launched, but changed its name to the World Cup in 1967.

In 1986, the tournament was incorporated into the World Golf Championships. It lost that designation in 2007, but was sanctioned by the International Federation of PGA Tours. The event now is biennial in odd numbered years to work around the 2016 return of golf to the Olympics.

At its inception, the format was 36 holes of stroke play with the combined two-player team score determining the winner. From 1954 to 1999, the format changed to 72 holes of stroke play. Starting in 2000, it became rounds of four ball and alternate shots.

As of this year, the World Cup of Golf becomes an individual event with a team component. Seventy two stroke play holes are at its core, while the team play consists of combined team stroke play scores for the top two players on each team.

Winners in 2013 receive $7 million of the $8 million purse.

Official World Golf Ranking Points will be awarded for the event for the first time in 2013.

Player teams are selected based on the Official World Golf Rankings. Two players from each country qualify to play based on World Golf rankings. Four players per country are permitted if they are in the top fifteen in WGR.

Past winners are listed below:

ISPS Handa World Cup of Golf Winners

ISPS Handa World Cup of Golf
2018Thomas Pieters & Thomas DetryMelbourne, Australia
2017Søren Kjeldsen & Thorbjørn OlesenNAMelbourne, Australia
2016NAMelbourne, Australia
2013Jason Day & Adam ScottAustralia Jason DayMelbourne, Australia
Omega Mission Hills World Cup[8]
2011Matt Kuchar & Gary WoodlandNAHaikou, Hainan Island, China
2009Edoardo Molinari & Francesco MolinariNAShenzhen, China
2008Robert Karlsson & Henrik StensonNAShenzhen, China
2007Colin Montgomerie & Marc WarrenNAShenzhen, China
WGC-World Cup
2006Bernhard Langer & Marcel SiemNASandy Lane Resort, Barbados
2005Stephen Dodd & Bradley DredgeNAAlgarve, Portugal
2004Paul Casey & Luke DonaldSeville, Spain
2003Trevor Immelman & Rory SabbatiniNAKiawah Island, South Carolina, United States
2002Toshimitsu Izawa & Shigeki MaruyamaNAPuerto Vallarta, Mexico
2001Ernie Els & Retief GoosenNAGotemba, Japan
2000David Duval & Tiger WoodsNABuenos Aires, Argentina
World Cup of Golf
1999Mark O'Meara & Tiger WoodsUnited States Tiger WoodsKuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1998David Carter & Nick FaldoUnited States Scott VerplankAuckland, New Zealand
1997Pádraig Harrington & Paul McGinleyScotland Colin MontgomerieKiawah Island, South Carolina, United States
1996Ernie Els & Wayne WestnerSouth Africa Ernie ElsCape Town, South Africa
1995Fred Couples & Davis Love IIIUnited States Davis Love IIIShenzhen, China
1994Fred Couples & Davis Love IIIUnited States Fred CouplesDorado, Puerto Rico
1993Fred Couples & Davis Love IIIGermany Bernhard LangerOrlando, Florida, United States
World Cup
1992Fred Couples & Davis Love IIIAustralia Brett OgleMadrid, Spain
1991Anders Forsbrand & Per-Ulrik JohanssonWales Ian WoosnamRome, Italy
1990Torsten Giedeon & Bernhard LangerUnited States Payne StewartOrlando, Florida, United States
1989Peter Fowler & Wayne GradyAustralia Peter FowlerMarbella, Spain
1988Ben Crenshaw & Mark McCumberUnited States Ben CrenshawMelbourne, Australia
1987David Llewellyn & Ian WoosnamWales Ian WoosnamMaui, Hawaii, United States
1985Dave Barr & Dan HalldorsonEngland Howard ClarkLa Quinta, California, United States
1984José Maria Cañizares & José RiveroSpain José Maria CañizaresRome, Italy
1983Rex Caldwell & John CookCanada Dave BarrJakarta, Indonesia
1982José Maria Cañizares & Manuel PiñeroSpain Manuel PiñeroAcapulco, Mexico
1980Dan Halldorson & Jim NelfordScotland Sandy LyleBogotá, Colombia
1979Hale Irwin & John MahaffeyUnited States Hale IrwinAthens, Greece
1978John Mahaffey & Andy NorthUnited States John MahaffeyHanalei, Hawaii, United States
1977Seve Ballesteros & Antonio GarridoSouth Africa Gary PlayerManila, Philippines
1976Seve Ballesteros & Manuel PiñeroMexico Ernesto AcostaPalm Springs, California, United States
1975Lou Graham & Johnny MillerUnited States Johnny MillerBangkok, Thailand
1974Bobby Cole & Dale HayesSouth Africa Bobby ColeCaracas, Venezuela
1973Johnny Miller & Jack NicklausUnited States Johnny MillerMarbella, Spain
1972Hsieh Min-Nan & Lu Liang-HuanTaiwan Hsieh Min-NanMelbourne, Australia
1971Jack Nicklaus & Lee TrevinoUnited States Jack NicklausPalm Beach, Florida, United States
1970Bruce Devlin & David GrahamArgentina Roberto De VicenzoBuenos Aires, Argentina
1969Orville Moody & Lee TrevinoUnited States Lee TrevinoSingapore
1968Al Balding & George KnudsonCanada Al BaldingRome, Italy
1967Jack Nicklaus & Arnold PalmerUnited States Arnold PalmerMexico City, Mexico
Canada Cup
1966Jack Nicklaus & Arnold PalmerCanada George KnudsonTokyo, Japan
1965Harold Henning & Gary PlayerSouth Africa Gary PlayerMadrid, Spain
1964Jack Nicklaus & Arnold PalmerUnited States Jack NicklausMaui, Hawaii, United States
1963Jack Nicklaus & Arnold PalmerUnited States Jack NicklausParis, France
1962Arnold Palmer & Sam SneadArgentina Roberto De VicenzoBuenos Aires, Argentina
1961Jimmy Demaret & Sam SneadUnited States Sam SneadDorado, Puerto Rico
1960Arnold Palmer & Sam SneadBelgium Flory Van DonckPortmarnock, Dublin, Ireland
1959Kel Nagle & Peter ThomsonCanada Stan LeonardMelbourne, Australia
1958Harry Bradshaw & Christy O'ConnorSpain Ángel MiguelMexico City, Mexico
1957Torakichi Nakamura & Koichi OnoJapan Torakichi NakamuraTokyo, Japan
1956Ben Hogan & Sam SneadUnited States Ben HoganWentworth, Surrey, England
1955Ed Furgol & Chick HarbertUnited States Ed FurgolWashington, DC, United States
1954Kel Nagle & Peter ThomsonNo awardMontreal, Canada
1953Antonio Cerdá & Roberto De VicenzoNo awardMontreal, Canada
ISPS Handa World Cup of Golf Winners



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.