ISPS Handa World Invitational Winners and History

ISPS Handa World Invitational Winners and History

The ISPS Handa World Invitational is a joint tournament from the European Tour, LPGA Tour and Ladies European Tour.

Originally known as the Northern Ireland Open, the tournament has gone several transformations since its beginning in 2011 as a EuroPro event. The EuroPro is a developmental tour one step below the European Tour’s Challenge Tour.

In 2019, the Northern Ireland Open was rebranded as the ISPS Handa World Invitational. The event had both men’s and women’s tournaments, with identical purses.

In the pandemic year of 2020, it reverted to a Challenge Tour event.

In 2021, the event was once again the ISPS Handa World Invitational. This time, however, it was a DP World (European Tour) event, and was co-sanctioned by the Ladies European Tour and the LPGA.

The format for 2022 remains the same.

ISPS Handa is the International Sports Promotion Society, founded and funded by Japanese philanthropist Dr. Haruhisa Handa in 2006. Its goal is to support charitable causes throughout the sporting world and has fostered partnerships with golf governing bodies worldwide to help develop the game at every level and promote blind and disabled golf.

Dr. Handa is an interesting character. Born in 1951, he operates more than a dozen companies in Japan, Australia and the United Kingdom. He has degrees in economics, vocal music, creative arts and literature. As you might expect, he is an author, who has written more than 220 books that have been translated into seven languages. Some of the best sellers include “Secrets for running a Small Business”, “Understanding Japan” and “Lucky Fortune” – of which more than a million copies have been sold.

A list of ISPS Handa World Invitational winners follows:

YearTour(s)WinnerScoreTo parMargin of
ISPS Handa World Invitational
2023EURDan Brown266-155 strokes
LET, LPGAAlexa Pano281-8Playoff
2022EUREwen Ferguson268-123 strokes
LET, LPGAMaja Stark271-205 strokes
2021EUR Daniel Gavins267−131 stroke
LET, LPGAPajaree Anannarukrarn275-16Playoff
Northern Ireland Open
2020Challenge Tyler Koivisto267−132 strokes
ISPS Handa World Invitational
2019Challenge Jack Senior269−11Playoff
LET, LPGA Stephanie Meadow278-10 1 stroke
Galgorm Resort & Spa Northern Ireland Open
2018Challenge Calum Hill265−191 stroke
2017Challenge Robin Sciot-Siegrist20 (knockout format)−32 strokes
Tayto Northern Ireland Open
2016Challenge Ryan Fox265−194 strokes
Northern Ireland Open
2015Challenge Clément Sordet267−171 stroke
Northern Ireland Open Challenge
2014Challenge Joakim Lagergren271−131 stroke
2013Challenge Daan Huizing271−13Playoff
Ulster Bank Open
2012EuroPro Paul Reed204−121 stroke
Galgorm Castle Northern Ireland Open
2011EuroPro Chris Hanson202−14Playoff

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: