John Deere Classic Winners and History


The John Deere Classic began life in 1971 as the Quad Cities Open. For its first four years, it was played at the Crow Valley Country Club in Davenport, Iowa. (The other members of the Quad Cities are Moline and Rock Island Illinois, and Bettendorf and East Moline, Iowa. Yes, there are five in the quad). The winner the first two years was Deane Beman, who later would serve as PGA Commissioner from 1974 to 1994.

In 1975, the event was renamed the Ed McMahon-Jaycees Quad Cities Open, and moved to Oakwood Country Club in Coal Valley, Illinois. It stayed there until 1999, under various names, including the Miller High LIfe Quad Cities Open, the Lite Quad Cities Open, the Hardees Golf Classic, and the Quad City Classic.

John Deere became the sponsor in 1999, and in 2000, the event moved to the TPC at Deere Run in Silvis, Illinois.

The tournament has for years been played in July, the week before the British Open, and this has at times made it difficult for the event to attract a strong field. However, the (British) Open Championship grants an exemption to a player who finishes in the top five at the Deere, who is not already otherwise qualified. That sort of qualifying has produced some good results in the past. Open Champion Ben Curtis got into the tournament by virtue of a 13th place finish at the Western Open, played two weeks before the Open.

In what was seen as largely as a publicity stunt, the John Deere gave Michelle Wie a sponsor’s exemption in 2005. Wie shot a -1, missing the cut by two strokes. She got another exemption in 2006, and finished six over par on the first day, then withdrew after the ninth on the second, citing heat exhaustion.

Steve Stricker and DA Weibring have each won the event three times.

  • D. A. Weibring: 1979, 1991, 1995
  • Steve Stricker: 2009, 2010, 2011Steve Stricker holds the tournament record at -26 (2010)

A list of past John Deere Classic winners follows:

John Deere Classic Winners

YearPlayerCountryScoreTo parMargin
John Deere Classic
2017Bryson DeChambeauUnited States266-181 stroke
2016Ryan MooreUnited States262-222 Strokes
2015Jordan Spieth (2) United States264−20Playoff
2014Brian Harman United States262−221 stroke
2013Jordan Spieth United States265−19Playoff
2012Zach Johnson United States264−20Playoff
2011Steve Stricker (3) United States262−221 stroke
2010Steve Stricker (2) United States258−262 strokes
2009Steve Stricker United States264−203 strokes
2008Kenny Perry United States268−16Playoff
2007Jonathan Byrd United States266−181 stroke
2006John Senden Australia265−191 stroke
2005Sean O'Hair United States268−161 stroke
2004Mark Hensby Australia268−16Playoff
2003Vijay Singh Fiji268−164 strokes
2002J. P. Hayes United States262−224 strokes
2001David Gossett United States265−191 stroke
2000Michael Clark II United States265−19Playoff
1999J. L. Lewis United States261−19Playoff
Quad City Classic
1998Steve Jones United States263−171 stroke
1997David Toms United States265−153 strokes
1996Ed Fiori United States268−122 strokes
1995D. A. Weibring (3) United States197^−131 stroke
Hardee's Golf Classic
1994Mark McCumber United States265−151 stroke
1993David Frost (2) South Africa259−217 strokes
1992David Frost South Africa266−143 strokes
1991D. A. Weibring (2) United States267−131 stroke
1990Joey Sindelar United States268−12Playoff
1989Curt Byrum United States268−121 stroke
1988Blaine McCallister United States261−193 strokes
1987Kenny Knox United States265−151 stroke
1986Mark Wiebe United States268−121 stroke
Lite Quad Cities Open
1985Dan Forsman United States267−131 stroke
Miller High Life QCO
1984Scott Hoch (2) United States266−145 strokes
1983Danny Edwards United States266−14Playoff
1982Payne Stewart United States268−122 strokes
Quad Cities Open
1981Dave Barr Canada270−10Playoff
1980Scott Hoch United States266−143 strokes
Ed McMahon-Jaycees Quad Cities Open
1979D. A. Weibring United States266−142 strokes
1978Victor Regalado Mexico269−151 stroke
1977Mike Morley United States267−171 stroke
1976John Lister New Zealand268−162 strokes
1975Roger Maltbie United States275−91 stroke
Quad Cities Open
1974Dave Stockton United States271−131 stroke
1973Sam Adams United States268−163 strokes
1972Deane Beman (2) United States279−51 stroke
John Deere Classic Winners

Leave a Reply