LPGA Volvik Championship Qualifier Monday At Eagle Crest

LPGA Volvik Championship Qualifier Monday At Eagle Crest
Anci Dy (Travers City), Sarah White (Grand Rapids) and Rachel Hu (Northville) are the three amateurs in Monday’s LPGA Volvik Championship Qualifier. They advanced out of the pre-qualifier at Leslie Park Golf Course

LPGA Volvik Championship Qualifier Monday At Eagle Crest

The final spots in the LPGA Volvik field will be determined at the 18-hole LPGA Volvik Championship Qualifier on Monday, May 21, 2018 at the Eagle Crest Golf Club in Ypsilanti. Two spots are available for the 38 golfers competing. The first tee time is noon.

Of the 38 players, five from the state of Michigan will compete including three amateurs.

Sarah Hoffman (Saline, Mich.) will be competing for one of the spots.  Hoffman, a graduate of Saline H.S. and Grand Valley State University, calls Travis Pointe CC her home course.  She received a sponsor’s exemption into the Ann Arbor event two years. Currently, Hoffman is playing on the LPGA’s Mini Tour.

Donna Fiscelli (Dearborn, Mich.), the assistant golf professional at the Dearborn Country Club, played golf at Oakland University. She was named to the Academic All-Horizon League Women’s Golf Team as a senior in 2014 She saved her best collegiate performance for her last. She set a career best with a 54-hole score of 234 (+15) at the Horizon League Championship, including a career-low 77 in Round 2. Fiscelli finished in a tie for fourth place and earned all-tournament honors. She attended Dearborn Divine Child High School.

Anci Dy (Traverse City, Mich.), Rachel Hu (Northville, Mich.), and Sarah White (Grand Rapids, Mich.) are the three amateurs in Monday’s event. They advanced to the LPGA Qualifier by their top three performances in Thursday’s Amateur Qualifier at Leslie Park Golf Course in Ann Arbor.

Dy, who plays on the MHSAA State Championship Traverse City Western H.S. team, is the second Dy to gain entry to the Official LPGA Qualifier. Her sister Anika was one of two players who advanced into the LPGA Volkik Qualifier last year.  This year, even though Anika won the MHSAA individual title, her sister Anci edged her at Leslie Park by two strokes. Anci shot a 78 while Anika shot a 76.

White led all amateur competitors on Thursday, shooting a 76. She attended East Kentwood High School, earning MHSAA All-State, OK Red All-Conference and All-Area honors all four years and was named to the 2014 MIGCA “Super Team.” She won 39 individual medals, including 12 in her sophomore and senior years.  As a high school senior year, White was the MHSAA Division 1 state champion in 2015. She attended Western Michigan University for one year before transferring to Texas State where she is currently on the roster.

Rachel Hu will be the youngest player in Monday’s qualifier.  The 15-year old shot a  78 to advance into the LPGA qualifier. In 2017, she played in many major junior tournaments including the Golfweek Midwest Junior Open at the TPC Michigan in Dearborn and the U.S. Girls Junior Amateur Qualifying Tournament at Silver Lake Country Club in Silver Lake, Ohio.


Sarah White – 76 Q

Rachel Hu – 78 Q

Anci Dy – 78 Q


Elayna Bowser – 79

Anika Dy – 80

Grace Mitchell – 84

Kirsty Mitchell – 86

About the LPGA Volvik Championship

More than 30,000 spectators are anticipated to attend the third annual LPGA Volvik Championship, May 21-27 at Ann Arbor’s Travis Pointe Country Club. The 72-hole championship tournament will attract the best female golfers in the world. The LPGA tour players represent over 30 countries with international television exposure in 170 different countries. Tournament week kicks off on Monday, May 21 with the first annual C.S. Mott Children’s Hospital Congenital Heart Center LPGA Pro-Am. On Wednesday, May 23 the LPGA Volvik Championship Official Pro-Am presented by Vertiv will be played. For more information or to purchase tickets, please visit www.volviklpga.com or call 734.707.0789.

The full list of competitors at Monday’s LPGA Volvik Qualifier Follows:


Standard Entry Report (Exemption Order)

LPGA Volvik Championship Qualifier


# Name Represents Nat. Exempt Rank

LPGA Qualifier Invite


1 Anci Dy (a) Traverse City, MI USA 1
2 Rachel Hu (a) Northville, MI USA 2
3 Sarah White (a) Grand Rapids, MI USA 3

Nos. 101-125


4 Ilhee Lee Seoul, Republic of Korea KOR 22
5 Becky Morgan Abergavenny, Wales WAL 23

Nos. 21-45  Q-School


6 Kendall Dye Edmond, OK USA 4
7 Madeleine Sheils Boise, ID USA 5
8 Alison Walshe Westford, MA USA 10
9 Jennifer Hahn Las Vegas, NV USA 15

Tourn Winner Previous 20 Years

10 Lorie Kane Charlottetown, PE CAN 24

Tourn Winner More Than 20 Year


11 Danah Bordner Indianapolis, IN USA 107

Nos. 126-150


12 Min Lee Taoyuan City, Chinese Taipei TPE 1
13 Nontaya Srisawang Chiang Mai, Thailand THA 5

Class A Veteran Int Member



Kristy McPherson

Conway, SC USA 3

Category A


15 Victoria Morgan Pasadena, CA USA 32

Category J


16 Samantha Postillion Burr Ridge, IL USA 50
17 Marissa Dodd Allen, TX USA 85

Category M



Kacie Komoto

Honolulu, HI USA 18
19 Yating Yang Taipei, Chinese Taipei TPE 22
20 Eunice Yi Augusta, GA USA 43
21 Laura Jansone Riga, Latvia LAT 73
22 Savannah Vilaubi Downey, CA USA 83
23 Sarah Hoffman Saline, MI USA 119
24 Rachel Jones Asheboro, NC USA 120
25 Brittany Mai San Diego, CA USA 129
26 Christina Yang Suwanee, GA USA 140




Anna Lesher


Ashland, OH



Exempt Rank


28 Anna Wilcoxson South  Bend, IN USA 153
29 Mackenzie Puryear Tampa, FL USA 169
30 Selanee Henderson Apple Valley, CA USA 182
31 Riley Rennell Columbia, TN USA 184
32 Karyn Lee Ping Brampton, ON CAN 207
33 Lisbeth Brooks Waunakee, WI USA 220
34 Laura Welch Ancaster, Canada CAN 261

Non-member Pro

35 Donna Fiscelli Dearborn, MI USA 1
36 Shelby Warner Findlay, OH USA 2
37 Audrey Nelson Columbus, OH USA 3
38 Casey MacNeil Canada, Canada CAN 4


No. of Competitors: 38

Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: