Lyoness Austria Open Winners and History


The Austrian Open—known in this incarnation as the Lyoness Open—has had a checkered history, moving back and forth in status between the European Tour and the minor league Challenge Tour.

Beginning in 1990 as the Austrian Open, it was a regular European Tour event. Between 1997 and 2005, it was reduced to Challenge Tour status. The Austrian Open then returned to the regular European Tour in 2006.

The current sponsor is Lyoness, an Austrian corporation which runs a “shopping community,” consisting of various loyalty programs.

Geek that I am, I cannot see the word Lyoness without thinking of the classic fantasy novel Lyonesse by Jack Vance.

The 2014 prize fund was €1,000,000.

The tournament is held at the Diamond Country Club in Atzenbrugg, Lower Austria, 35 km west of Vienna.

The list of Lyoness Open Winners follows

Year ChampionCountryScore
Lyoness Open powered by Greenfinity
2017Dylan FrittelliSouth Africa 276 (-12)
2016Wu AshunChina 275 (-13)
2015Chris WoodEngland 273 (-15)
2014 Mikael Lundberg Sweden 276 (-12)
2013 Joost LuitenNetherlands271 (−17)
2012Bernd WiesbergerAustria269 (−19)
Austrian Golf Open
2011Kenneth FerrieEngland276 (−12)PO
2010José Manuel LaraSpain271 (−17)PO
2009Rafael Cabrera-BelloSpain264 (−20)
Bank Austria GolfOpen presented by Telekom Austria
2008*Jeev Milkha SinghIndia198 (−15)
BA-CA Golf Open presented by Telekom Austria
2007Richard GreenAustralia268 (−16)PO
2006 Markus BrierAustria266 (−18)
Hohe Brücke Open
1996Paul McGinleyRepublic of Ireland269 (−19)
1995Alex ČejkaGermany267 (−21)
1994Mark DavisEngland270 (−18)
Hohe Brücke Austrian Open
1993 Ronan RaffertyNorthern Ireland274 (−14)PO
Mitsubishi Austrian Open
1992Peter MitchellEngland271 (−17)
Mitsubishi Austrian Open sponsored by Denzel
1991 Mark DavisEngland269 (−19)
Austrian Open
1990Bernhard LangerWest Germany271 (−17)PO

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: