Major Announcement For Oakland Hills In The Works

The iconic Oakland Hills Clubhouse
The iconic Oakland Hills Clubhouse in the summer of 2021.

Major Announcement For Oakland Hills

Oakland Hills, which earlier this year suffered a devastating fire to its historic clubhouse, has scheduled a major announcement with the USGA on Monday.

The press conference, hosted at Detroit Athletic Club, will include USGA Chief Championships Officer John Bodenhamer, Two-time U.S. Open Champion Andy North and Golf Course Architect Gil Hanse.

It is pure speculation on my part, but the presence of Andy North — who won the 1985 US Open at Oakland Hills — strongly suggests that a US Open will be coming back to Oakland Hills.

The next available spot on the US Open schedule is 2028.

Oakland Hills already is scheduled to host the 2031 and 2042 US Women’s Open.

In 2021, Oakland Hills unveiled its South Course restoration, which was designed by Gil Hanse.

The last US Open hosted by Oakland Hills was the 1996 US Open. In the ensuing years, the club’s South Course has also hosted a Ryder Cup, a PGA Championship and the US Amateur.

Major Championships held at Oakland Hills include:

YearTournamentWinnerWinning Score
1922Western Open Mike Brady291 (+3)
1924U.S. Open Cyril Walker297 (+9)
1937U.S. Open Ralph Guldahl281 (+1)
1951U.S. Open Ben Hogan287 (+7)
1961U.S. Open Gene Littler281 (+1)
1972PGA Championship Gary Player281 (+1)
1979PGA Championship David Graham272 (−8)
1981U.S. Senior Open Arnold Palmer289 (+9)
1985U.S. Open Andy North279 (−1)
1991U.S. Senior Open (2) Jack Nicklaus282 (+2), Playoff
1996U.S. Open (6) Steve Jones278 (−2)
 2002 U.S. Amateur Ricky Barnes2 & 1
2004Ryder Cup Team Europe1812–912
2008PGA Championship (3) Pádraig Harrington277 (−3)
2016U.S. Amateur (2) Curtis Luck6 & 4
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: