Marathon Classic Winners and History – LPGA

Marathon Classic Winners

Marathon Classic Winners and History

The LPGA’s Marathon Classic was founded—curiously—after PGA Tour Caddie Judd Silverman decided to bring an LPGA tournament to his hometown of Toledo, Ohio. Silverman was able to recruit both sponsors and the help of another Toledo native, MASH star Jamie Farr. Farr lent his name to the event, worked as host and brought celebrity friends along for the ride.

Jamie Farr stepped down from the tournament after 2012, but it continues as the Marathon Classic Presented by Owens Corning and O-I (Owens-Illinois).

Owens-Corning is headquartered in Toledo.

Grocery store chain Kroger has been involved in the event since 1997:

1984–1996: Jamie Farr Toledo Classic
1997–2000: Jamie Farr Kroger Classic
2001–2003: Jamie Farr Kroger Classic Presented by ALLTEL
2004–2010: Jamie Farr Owens Corning Classic Presented by Kroger
2012: Jamie Farr Toledo Classic Presented by Kroger, Owens Corning and O-I
2013: Marathon Classic Presented by Owens Corning and O-I

The Marathon Classic has been held at Highland Meadows Golf Club in Sylvania (just outside Toledo) since 1989. From 1984 to 1988 it was at the Glengarry Country Club in nearby Holland.

The largest playoff in LPGA history took place at the 1999 Jamie Farr, a six-player affair involving Karrie Webb, Carin Koch, Sherri Steinhauer, Se Ri Pak, Kelli Kuehne, and Mardi Lunn. Pak won it on first hole of sudden death by making a ten-foot birdie putt.

In 2007, Se Ri Pak won the Farr for the fifth time, becoming only the fourth LPGA golfer to win the same tournament on five different occasions.

After 2009, the tournament nearly ceased operations as the LPGA struggled under the leadership of commissioner Carolyn Bivens. When Bivens resigned, however, it was revived for another year, but with the purse reduced from $1.4 million to $1 million.

The tournament was not held in 2011 because the US Senior Open was held at Inverness Club in Toledo and organizers felt as though the area could not sustain two golf tournaments in a single summer.

I have attended several editions of the Marathon Classic and can tell you that they are a lot of fun and very family friendly. If you live in the area, it is worth a visit.

A complete list of Marathon Classic winners follows:

YearChampionCountryWinning scoreTo parMargin
2018Thidapa SuwannapuraThailand65-69-71-65=270-14Playoff
2017In-Kyung KimSouth Korea65-67-68-63=263-214 strokes
2016Lydia Ko (2) New Zealand68-66-67-69=270−14Playoff
2015Chella Choi South Korea73-66-65-66=270−14Playoff
2014Lydia Ko New Zealand67-67-70-65=269−151 stroke
2013Beatriz Recari Spain69-65-67-66=267−171 stroke
2012So Yeon Ryu South Korea67-68-67-62=264−207 strokes
2011No Tournament
2010Na Yeon Choi South Korea64-67-68-71=270−14Playoff
2009Eunjung Yi South Korea68-66-61-71=266−18Playoff
2008Paula Creamer United States60-65-70-73=268−162 strokes
2007Se Ri Pak (5) South Korea63-68-69-67=267−173 strokes
2006Mi Hyun Kim South Korea68-66-67-65=266−18Playoff
2005Heather Bowie United States72-66-69-67=274−10Playoff
2004Meg Mallon United States66-69-74-68=277−71 stroke
2003Se Ri Pak (4) South Korea69-67-64-71=271−132 strokes
2002Rachel Teske Australia67-73-64-66=270−142 strokes
2001Se Ri Pak (3) South Korea70-62-69-68=269−152 strokes
2000Annika Sörenstam Sweden70-67-66-71=274−10Playoff
1999Se Ri Pak (2) South Korea68-69-68-71=276−8Playoff
1998Se Ri Pak South Korea71-61-63-66=261−239 strokes
1997Kelly Robbins (2) United States67-64-67-67=265−198 strokes
1996Joan Pitcock United States68-66-70=204−91 stroke
1995Kathryn Marshall Scotland67-71-67=205−81 stroke
1994Kelly Robbins United States69-70-65=204−9Playoff
1993Brandie Burton United States68-66-67=201−121 stroke
1992Patty Sheehan United States70-73-66=209−41 stroke
1991Alice Miller United States69-66-70=205−8Playoff
1990Tina Purtzer Canada67-72-66=205−84 strokes
1989Penny Hammel (2) United States69-66-71=206−72 strokes
1988Laura Davies England69-70-69-69=277−113 strokes
1987Jane Geddes United States71-73-69-67=280−82 strokes
1986No Tournament
1985Penny Hammel United States72-69-72-65=278−101 stroke
1984Lauri Peterson United States68-72-65-73=278−102 strokes
YearDatesChampionCountryWinning scorePurse ($)
2014Jul 17–20   1,400,000
2013Jul 18–21Beatriz Recari Spain69-65-67-66=2671,300,000
2012Aug 9–12So Yeon Ryu South Korea67-68-67-62=2641,300,000
2011No tournament    
2010Jul 1–4Na Yeon Choi South Korea64-67-68-71=2701,000,000
2009Jul 2–5Eunjung Yi South Korea68-66-61-71=2661,400,000
2008Jul 10–13Paula Creamer United States60-65-70-73=2681,300,000
2007Jul 12–15Se Ri Pak South Korea63-68-69-67=2671,300,000
2006Jul 13–16Mi Hyun Kim South Korea68-66-67-65=2661,200,000
2005Jul 7–10Heather Bowie United States72-66-69-67=2741,200,000
2004Aug 5–8Meg Mallon United States66-69-74-68=2771,100,000
2003Aug 14–17Se Ri Pak South Korea69-67-64-71=2711,000,000
2002Jul 11–14Rachel Teske Australia67-73-64-66=2701,000,000
2001Jul 5–8Se Ri Pak South Korea70-62-69-68=2691,000,000
2000Jul 6–9Annika Sörenstam Sweden70-67-66-71=2741,000,000
1999Jul 1–4Se Ri Pak South Korea68-69-68-71=276900,000
1998Jul 9–12Se Ri Pak South Korea71-61-63-66=261800,000
1997Jul 3–6Kelly Robbins United States67-64-67-67=265700,000
1996Jul 5–7Joan Pitcock United States68-66-70=204575,000
1995Jul 7–9Kathryn Marshall Scotland67-71-67=205500,000
1994Jul 8–10Kelly Robbins United States69-70-65=204500,000
1993Jul 2–4Brandie Burton United States68-66-67=201500,000
1992Jul 3–5Patty Sheehan United States70-73-66=209400,000
1991Jul 5–7Alice Miller United States69-66-70=205350,000
1990Jul 6–8Tina Purtzer Canada67-72-66=205325,000
1989Jul 7–9Penny Hammel United States69-66-71=206275,000
1988Jun 2–5Laura Davies England69-70-69-69=277275,000
1987Jul 2–5Jane Geddes United States71-73-69-67=280225,000
1986No tournament    
1985Aug 1–4Penny Hammel United States72-69-72-65=278175,000
1984Jul 5–8Lauri Peterson United States68-72-65-73=278175,000
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

2 thoughts on “Marathon Classic Winners and History – LPGA”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: