2012 Masters Tournament Notes

Dates: April 2-8, 2012
Where: Augusta National Golf Club, Augusta, GA
Par/Yards: 72/7,445 yards
2011 champion: Charl Schwartzel
2012 Purse: TBD
FedExCup: 600 points to the winner
Format: 72-hole stroke play
Cut: After 36 holes, top 44 and ties and players within 10 strokes of the lead play the final two rounds
Miscellaneous Masters Notes

  • Ben Crenshaw will be making his 41st consecutive Masters appearance this week (1972-2011).

  • Palmer played in a record 50 consecutive Masters from 1955 to 2004.

  • The youngest winner of the Masters: Tiger Woods (1997, 21 years, 3 months, 14 days).

  • Six amateurs will compete: Patrick Cantlay (USA), Kelly Kraft (USA), Randal Lewis (USA), Bryden Macpherson (Australia), Hideki Matsuyama (Japan) and Corbin Mills (USA).

  • The oldest winner of the Masters: Jack Nicklaus (1986, 46 years, 2 months, 23 days).

  • Gary Player owns the most starts in Masters history, with 52.

  • Past Masters champions in the field (18): Angel Cabrera, Fred Couples, Ben Crenshaw, Trevor Immelman, Zach Johnson, Bernhard Langer, Sandy Lyle, Phil Mickelson, Larry Mize, Mark O’Meara,
  • Jose Maria Olazabal, Charl Schwartzel, Vijay Singh, Craig Stadler, Tom Watson, Mike Weir, Tiger Woods and Ian Woosnam.

  • Fifteen players will be making their first start at the Masters: Sang-moon Bae, Keegan Bradley, Patrick Cantlay, Kevin Chappell, Gonzalo Fernandez-Castano, Harrison Frazar, Robert Garrigus, Kelly Kraft, Randal Lewis, Bryden Macpherson, Corbin Mills, Webb Simpson, Scott Stallings, Kyle Stanley, Brendan Steele.

  • Lee Westwood enters the 2012 Masters with six top-3 finishes in his last 14 Major Championship starts:

    3rd 2011 U.S. Open
    2nd 2010 British Open
    2nd 2010 Masters Tournament
    T3 2009 PGA Championship
    T3 2009 British Open
    3rd 2008 U.S. Open

  • Since 1934, just 10 players have won the week before winning a Major Championship:

    2007 Tiger Woods won WGC-Bridgestone Invitational followed by PGA Championship
    2006   Phil Mickelson won BellSouth Classic followed by Masters
    1988 Sandy Lyle won Greater Greensboro Open followed by the Masters
    1971 Lee Trevino won the Canadian Open followed by the British Open
    1959 Art Wall won the Azalea Open followed by the Masters
    1949 *Sam Snead won the Greater Greensboro Open followed by the Masters
    1946   *Ben Hogan won the Winnipeg Open followed by the PGA
    1945 *Byron Nelson won the Chicago Victory Open followed by the PGA
    1939   Ralph Guldahl won the Greater Greensboro Open followed by the Masters
    1939 *Henry Picard won the Scranton Open followed by the PGA
    *No event scheduled the week after first win. Major was next event contested

  • Active consecutive major appearances (entering the 2011 Masters):

    Garcia, Sergio 50
    Scott, Adam 42
    Choi, K.J.  39


    Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!
  • Leave a Reply

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    %d bloggers like this: