Mayakoba Golf Classic Winners and History

Mayakoba Golf Classic Winners

The Mayakoba Golf Classic (nee The OHL Classic at Mayakoba, nee Mayakoba Golf Classic) was the first PGA Tour Event to be played outside the US and Canada. With the addition of the WGC-Mexico, there now are two official PGA TOUR events in Mexico.

Initially, the tournament was an opposite field event for the WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship, and like other alternate events counted only for half points in the FedEx Cup. The first event was won by Fred Funk who, at the age of 50 years 257 days was the oldest player to win a PGA Tour event in 32 years.

No tournament was held during the 2013 season, as the PGA Tour transitioned to a wraparound schedule. The OHL Classic at Mayakoba returns as the week six event in the 2013-2014 PGA Tour season.


The tournament is held at the El Camaleón Golf Club at the Mayakoba resort. A Greg Norman creation, the course travels through three distinct landscapes— mangrove jungles, limestone canals and oceanfront stretches of sand. El Camaleón incorporates a cenote, a massive underground cavern, into the heart of the opening fairway. With Mayakoba’s unique system of waterways, golfers will be able to step out of their rooms and into a boat, which will ferry them directly to the first tee.


A list of OHL Classic at Mayakoba Winners follows:

OHL Classic At Mayakoba Winners

YearSeasonPlayerCountryScoreTo parMargin
OHL Classic at Mayakoba
20192020Brendon ToddUnited States 264-201 stroke
20182019Matt KucharUnited States262-221 stroke
20172018Patton KizzireUnited States265-191 stroke
20162017Pat PerezUnited States263-212 strokes
20152016Graeme McDowell Northern Ireland266−18Playoff
20142015Charley Hoffman United States267−171 stroke
20132014Harris English United States263−214 strokes
Mayakoba Golf Classic
2012John Huh United States271−13Playoff
Mayakoba Golf Classic at Riviera Maya-Cancun
2011Johnson Wagner United States267−17Playoff
2010Cameron Beckman United States269−152 strokes
2009Mark Wilson United States267−132 strokes
2008Brian Gay United States264−162 strokes
2007Fred Funk United States266−14Playoff
Past winners of the OHL Classic At Mayakoba

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Discover more from GolfBlogger Golf Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading