Maybank Championship Winners and History

Maybank Championship Winners

Maybank Championship Winners and History

The Maybank Championship is the successor to the Malaysian Open. The first playing of the rebranded tournament was in 2016.

The host course is the Royal Selangor Golf Club in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The Royal Selangor dates to 1893, making it one of the oldest golf clubs in Asia. T

Maybank is Malaysia’s largest bank.

As the Malaysian Open, the tournament dates to 1962. The first winner was Frank Phillips, an Australian golfer who also had won having won the 1957 and 1961 Australian Opens. Other “name” winners include Vijay Singh (twice), Louis Oosthuizen, Lee Westwood, Mattero Manassero, Jeff Maggert and Steve Flesch.

Ironically, there has never been a Malaysian winner.

The event is sanctioned by both the Asian Tour and European Tour.

A list of Maybank Championship Winners Follows

Maybank Championship
2018Shubhankar Sharma267 (–21)
2017Fabrizio Zanotti269 (–19)
2016Marcus Fraser272 (–16)
Maybank Malaysian Open
2015Anirban Lahiri272 (–16)
2014Lee Westwood270 (–18)*
2013Kiradech Aphibarnrat203 (–13)*
2012Louis Oosthuizen271 (-17)
2011Matteo Manassero272 (-16)
2010Noh Seung-yul274 (-14)
2009Anthony Kang271 (-17)
2008Arjun Atwal270 (-18)PO
2007Peter Hedblom280 (-8)
2006*Charlie Wi197 (-19)
Carlsberg Malaysian Open
2005Thongchai Jaidee267 (-21)
2004Thongchai Jaidee274 (-14)
2003Arjun Atwal260 (-24)
2002Alastair Forsyth267 (-17)PO
2001Vijay Singh274 (-14)PO
Benson and Hedges Malaysian Open
2000Yeh Wei-tze278 (-10)
1999Gerry Norquist280 (-8)
Malaysian Open (prior To European Tour Sanctioning)
1998Ed Fryatt 
1997Lee Westwood 
1996Steve Flesch 
1995Clay Devers 
1994Joakim Haeggman 
1993Gerry Norquist 
1992Vijay Singh 
1991Rick Gibson 
1990Glen Day 
1989Jeff Maggert 
1988Tray Tyner 
1987Terry Gale 
1986Stewart Ginn 
1985Terry Gale 
1984Lu Chien-soon 
1983Terry Gale 
1982Denny Hepler 
1981Lu Hsi-chuen 
1980Mark McNulty 
1979Lu Hsi-chuen 
1978Brian Jones 
1977Stewart Ginn 
1976Hsu Sheng-san 
1975Graham Marsh 
1974Graham Marsh 
1973Hideyo Sugimoto 
1972Takashi Murakami 
1971Takaaki Kono 
1970Ben Arda 
1969Takaaki Kono 
1968Kenji Hosoishi 
1967Ireneo Legaspi 
1966Harold Henning 
1965Tomoo Ishii 
1964Tomoo Ishii 
1963Bill Dunk 
1962Frank Phillips 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: