Maybank Malaysian Open Past Winners and History

Maybank Malaysian Open Logo photo maybanklogo_zpsfbfd030f.jpgThe inaugural Malaysian Open was played in 1962, and was won by Frank Phillips. The Australian golfer was an established player, having won the 1957 and 1961 Australian Opens. Other “name” winners include Vijay Singh (twice), Louis Oosthuizen, Lee Westwood, Mattero Manassero, Jeff Maggert and Steve Flesch.

Ironically, there has never been a Malaysian winner.

In 2013, the Maybank Malaysian Open offered a record US$2.75 million in total prize funds.

The event is sanctioned by both the Asian Tour and European Tour.

Kuala Lumpur GC Smaller photo kualalumpurgc_zpsb082bdb1.jpg
Kuala Lumpur Golf and Country Club

The tournament is held at the Kuala Lampur Golf Club in Bukit Kiara, Kuala Lumpur. The course was originally designed by Robin Nelson in 1991 It has since been redesigned, with the reopening in 2008. Water comes into play on thirteen of the eighteen holes.

A list of Maybank Malaysian Open Winners f.ollows. For the successor tournament, the Maybank Championship, follow the link.

Malaysian Open Past Winners
Maybank Malaysian Open
2015Anirban Lahiri272 (–16)
2014Lee Westwood270 (–18)*
2013Kiradech Aphibarnrat203 (–13)*
2012Louis Oosthuizen271 (-17)
2011Matteo Manassero272 (-16)
2010Noh Seung-yul274 (-14)
2009Anthony Kang271 (-17)
2008Arjun Atwal270 (-18)PO
2007Peter Hedblom280 (-8)
2006*Charlie Wi197 (-19)
Carlsberg Malaysian Open
2005Thongchai Jaidee267 (-21)
2004Thongchai Jaidee274 (-14)
2003Arjun Atwal260 (-24)
2002Alastair Forsyth267 (-17)PO
2001Vijay Singh274 (-14)PO
Benson and Hedges Malaysian Open
2000Yeh Wei-tze278 (-10)
1999Gerry Norquist280 (-8)
Malaysian Open (prior To European Tour Sanctioning)
1998Ed Fryatt
1997Lee Westwood
1996Steve Flesch
1995Clay Devers
1994Joakim Haeggman
1993Gerry Norquist
1992Vijay Singh
1991Rick Gibson
1990Glen Day
1989Jeff Maggert
1988Tray Tyner
1987Terry Gale
1986Stewart Ginn
1985Terry Gale
1984Lu Chien-soon
1983Terry Gale
1982Denny Hepler
1981Lu Hsi-chuen
1980Mark McNulty
1979Lu Hsi-chuen
1978Brian Jones
1977Stewart Ginn
1976Hsu Sheng-san
1975Graham Marsh
1974Graham Marsh
1973Hideyo Sugimoto
1972Takashi Murakami
1971Takaaki Kono
1970Ben Arda
1969Takaaki Kono
1968Kenji Hosoishi
1967Ireneo Legaspi
1966Harold Henning
1965Tomoo Ishii
1964Tomoo Ishii
1963Bill Dunk
1962Frank Phillips

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: