Meijer LPGA Classic Winners and History


The Meijer LPGA Classic is played at Blythefield Country Club in Grand Rapids. The tournament’s inaugural year was 2014.

imageBlythefield Country Club previously hosted the 1961 Western Open, which was won by Arnold Palmer (right, photo courtesy of Western Golf Association). In a 1991 interview, Palmer compared Blythefield to his home course Latrobe Country Club. Blythefield has also hosted the Western Amateur and the Western Junior Amateur.

In 2005, the Western Junior Championship held at Blythefield featured current PGA Tour star Ricky Fowler.

Founded in 1932, Meijer is credited with creating the superstore concept in 1962. Its stores are primarily located in Michigan, with outlets in Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky and Ohio. The chain is family owned.

I remember being astonished at the size of Meijer stores when I first moved to Michigan some some twenty five years ago. Superstores are common now, but back then, Meijer was the biggest retailers I had ever seen. There were some malls that weren’t as big.

The complete list of Meijer LPGA Classic Winners follows

YearChampionCountryWinning scoreTo parMargin
2015Lexi Thompson United States69-64-68-65=266−181 stroke
2014Mirim Lee South Korea70-64-67-69=270−14Playoff



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: