I don’t normally follow the European Tour, but the story developing around Colin Montgomerie in recent weeks is fascinating. This past weekend, an 11th place finish at the BMW—combined with Kirk Triplett’s failure to finish second at the St. Jude—has allowed Monty to squeeze into the U.S. Open.
But his entry is not without controversy, for he would not have made it without the points he received for finishing fourth in the March Indonesian Open—a finish that was marred by accusations of a rules violation:
During the second round of the Indonesian Open in March, Montgomerie hit his ball near the edge of a bunker on the 14th hole. He spent 20 seconds trying, and failing, to take a stance, before play was called to a halt because of bad weather. He stalked off, leaving the ball where it lay. When he returned the following day the ball had disappeared. He replaced it – as required by the rules – but did so in a spot where he was able to take a stance, from where he made an easy par. (Guardian)
To his credit, Monty donated all of his earnings from the controversial tournament to charity, but accusations continue to haunt him on tour.