Oman Open Winners and History

The Oman Open was launched in 2018 with a three year agreement with the National Bank of Oman.

For five years previous, the National Bank of Oman had sponsored a Challenge Tour event.

The tournament is played at Al Mouj Golf, Muscat, Oman. It is a Greg Norman designed course

The National Bank of Oman was the country’s first local bank. It offers both conventional and Islamic financial services.  The latter is important, as Sharia law prohibits interest paid on loans.

Oman is located on the southeastern corner of the Arabian Peninsula. The sultanate has a population of four and a half million. It is an absolute monarchy.

The Oman Open is one of four European Tour events held in the nations of the Persian Gulf: the Abu Dhabi Golf Championship, Dubai Desert Classic, Qatar Masters, and now, the NBO Oman Open.

A list of Oman Open Winners follows:

YearWinnerCountryScoreTo parMargin
NBO Oman Open
2020Sami Välimäki Finland275-13Playoff
2019Kurt KitayamaUnited States281-71 stroke
2018Joost Luiten Netherlands272−162 strokes
Liked it? Take a second to support The Original Golf Blogger on Patreon!

1 thought on “Oman Open Winners and History”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: